Is att unlimited plan capped?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by sgrrsh26, Oct 7, 2011.

  1. sgrrsh26 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    #1
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    I was just wondering because I was reading that verizon is capped @ 5gb. Don't understand how that could have been marketed as an unlimited plan but whatever.
     
  2. tivoboy macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    #2
    currently

    Currently, the AT&T unlimited plans are not capped, but it could happen at any time.
     
  3. sgrrsh26 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    #3
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    How can they just do that
    If they did wouldn't that void any contract I have with them?
     
  4. GIZBUG macrumors 65816

    GIZBUG

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #4
    No, in the fine print
     
  5. zmulleni macrumors regular

    zmulleni

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    #5
    In July I chewed through 8.9GB's of data and have averaged 4.2 GB's over the last six months. Yes I'm literally on my phone all the time as I need it for work but to answer your question I personally have never encountered a cap.

    They may start to throttle heavy data users though as it's common practice throughout carriers now and days.

    To answer above: you may have leniency as far as ETF's are concerned if they alter or change your contract but it is legal form them to change or alter at anytime.
     
  6. rjohnstone macrumors 68040

    rjohnstone

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Location:
    PHX, AZ.
    #6
    The unlimited plan has never been capped.

    A few idiots with reading comprehension issues read the Data Connect plan terms and confused them with the iPhone Unlimited plan.
    That is how the whole 5GB thing started.

    The Data Connect Unlimited plans had soft caps at 5GB where your usage "could" be restricted if it was deemed excessive.

    The iPhone Unlimited plans never had this provision.
     
  7. menist macrumors regular

    menist

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    #7
    Its not capped, but if you go over 5GB month to month, they will cap your speed. Thats all they could do. ;)
     
  8. fjrabon macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    #8
    There have been threats to throttle, that is slow down the speed of the top users, but from everything I've seen, they've only allegedly sent those threats to people who use like 11GB per month.
     
  9. sgrrsh26 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    #9
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    So for all you grandfathered unlimited guys. When LTE is the norm will you switch to a tiered plan? I doubt the unlimited will cover 4G
     
  10. fjrabon macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    #10
    From what I've seen/heard, it's not an actual hard number, it's x percentage of users, and AT&T said they'd even stop doing that if it culled the top 5% down to a reasonable amount of data. I know people who have used 6GB and never got the infamous throttle thread texts.
     
  11. sgrrsh26 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    #11
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    So for all you grandfathered unlimited guys. When LTE is the norm will you switch to a tiered plan? I doubt the unlimited will cover 4G
     
  12. fjrabon macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    #12
    eh, hard to say, though it has migrated from Edge to 3G to HPSA+, so I don't see why they wouldn't grandfather it in for LTE as well.

    The big thing is that they won't let you tether with the unlimited plan.
     
  13. sgrrsh26 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    #13
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Which can be easily fixed with a jailbreak
     
  14. rjohnstone macrumors 68040

    rjohnstone

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Location:
    PHX, AZ.
    #14
    They currently let you keep it if you switch to a 4G Android phone.
    But that can change at any moment.
     
  15. sgrrsh26 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    #15
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    I think even then 3G will be fine for me. I mean my fios at
    Home is only 20Mbps I don't think I'll need a phone that's faster than my home network lol
     

Share This Page