Is batterygate over?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by Mrfatboy, Dec 10, 2011.

1. Mrfatboy macrumors 6502

What's the latest? I see no more discussions or complaining about battery life in the forums, blog, etc. The last thing I heard was apple admitted there was a problem and they were working on it. Then they release 5.1 BETA with supposedly no battery fix.

Did apple just wait all the whiners and "people that don't know how to set up their phones properly" out? It's been way too quiet!

Maybe everybody has gone for the holidays!

2. Leonard1818 macrumors 68020

I got in on the 400+ page thread around page 60-something. I knew of the potential issues well in advance. Didn't stop me from dropping my Android like it just bit me.

I've had 2 4s phones now (nothing battery related) and have gotten more than adequate battery life from BOTH of them.

Maybe it's because I work in tech support (don't ask what company I work for lol) so I know EXACTLY how to troubleshoot an issue related to hardware/software but I've found that if you read what others have discussed and you really consider the different processes and what the phone is programmed to do, you can limit severe battery drain easily.

For people looking for a "set it and forget it" type device, I hate to break it to them but it doesn't yet exist. The iPhone is going to be the closest thing to that (as it's the most user-friendly that I've found). But you still have to be concious of what your phone is doing. For instance, I was at a company lunch function the other day and I put my phone on vibrate. I happened to look and noticed that I had zero signal. I looked down a few minutes later and noticed my battery starting to go. Logic told me that this phone is NOT going to stop looking for a signal even in the lead building I was in. Airplane mode for the rest of the function and it didn't even go down 1/2 percent.