Is Bootcamp better than Virtual pc ?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Avzone, Jan 24, 2009.

  1. Avzone macrumors 6502

    Avzone

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Location:
    U.k
    #1
    Just wondered what the difference was as I have a copy of Virtual Pc 6 and cant yet have bootcamp til I upgrade everything.
    Thanks!
    :)
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    Oh, goodness me, very much so.

    VirtualPC was absolutely terrible at what it did, even for a virtualization suite.

    Because the OS is being virtualized, it cannot access the full potential of the hardware and would thus run very slowly. Boot Camp, on the other hand, runs Windows natively, giving it the same access to the hardware as OS X.

    Current virtualization software, such as Parallels and VMware, do their jobs MUCH better than Virtual PC ever did, because they don't have to emulate an x86/x64 processor, among other reasons. In fact, for most purposes (other than games and other things graphically intense), either of these virtualization softwares would be perfectly suited to running Windows full time.
     
  3. Avzone thread starter macrumors 6502

    Avzone

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Location:
    U.k
    #3
    >>>

    Yeah thought so... That make sense, have to start my upgrade.
    Thanks!
    ;)
     
  4. dkeninitz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    Location:
    Germantown, MD
    #4
    They're different things altogether. Boot camp simply lets you boot one operating system or the other (OS X or Windows). VirtualPC was a hackneyed attempt to create a Windows virtual machine running within Mac OS X.

    BTW, what are you "upgrading" from? Odds are that you haven't been running VirtualPC on a modern Intel-based Mac, but you have to have an Intel-based Mac to run Windows via Bootcamp.
     
  5. Avzone thread starter macrumors 6502

    Avzone

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Location:
    U.k
    #5
    >>>

    Yeah I got a Power Pc Powerbook g4 and it seem I lose out on a lot of stuff as I haven't got an Intel Processor.
     

Share This Page