Is/Can the ITouch Serve as a PDA?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by phlabse, Nov 28, 2007.

1. phlabse macrumors newbie

Hello everyone!

I have a palm right now and I'm debating whether or not to sell it and switch to an Itouch. Can the Itouch serve as a palm pilot ( as in tasks, contacts, dates, scheduling)? I recently got a Mac and I'm thinking of taking a turn for apple. If I use my PDA for scheduling in when assignments are due (I'm a student) and similar things, will the iTouch suffice?

Thanks in advance everyone!

2. Texas04 macrumors 6502a

Texas04

I believe that it can. I use my ipod to schedule due dates along with alarms to remind me and my iPod beeps and shows a message whenever I want it to before the event, usually a day before. Also I have made my contact list grow with the device and be more accurate since people can visually see their information on a device instead of misreading it on a piece of paper. Plus it has all my music and videos and hacked it is even better with all the iPhone apps.

3. aki macrumors 6502a

There are already answers to this kind of question scattered around, but here is my opinion.

The touch is an iPod. It looks a bit like a PDA and sure, if you are prepared to jailbreak (and you'd be crazy not to), you can squeeze out a lot of additional functionality. But if you buy an iPod touch -as- a PDA, you won't be happy. The PDA-style functionality of the product out-of-the-box is very limited; and what you can get via jailbreak is very nice indeed if you enjoy tinkering with technology, but none of it is "official" Apple software and it's all very much "as-is".

As for your specific question about scheduling, well, the touch has iCal which will sync with iCal on your Mac so yes you could use that to keep track of due dates and it would work well enough.