Is ElCap running slow, spinning wheels on my MBP

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by mortenjensen, Oct 4, 2015.

  1. mortenjensen macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    #1
    Hi all,
    I just did a clean install on a secondary SSD I have in my 2011 MBH ivy bridge. Yosemite is running beautifully on my primary drive - and wanted to test and see how ElCap works before taking the plunge on my main drive. Here is what I experience: tons of spinning wheels, like just now, when I type this post and want to edit, I get a spinning wheel when hitting delete.
    My read/write speed with black magic disk test is 500 MB/s, that should be fine.

    What can cause this?
    - Does ElCap need some hours to index the whole thing for Spotlight?
    - Can it be a problem that it is running from the secondary bay, the DVD-bay?
    - Also: I turned off FileVault encryption due to this site, but it does not seem to have improved the case that much.http://elcapitanslow.com
    - I also turned on trimming with Candori: https://www.cindori.org/safely-enable-trim-on-yosemite-and-el-capitan/ - that helped a bit.

    Will it get better or is ivy bridge MBP too slow for ElCap?

    Morten
     
  2. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #2
    Who knows - just look in Activity Monitor and actually see what you CPU is doing, far better than anyone guessing.
     
  3. mortenjensen thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    #3
    nothing there seems to run with high cpu usage
     
  4. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #4
    Sort by CPU usage and post a screenshot if you can, CPUs don't just do nothing and give you a beachball, the beachball indicates it is doing something.
     
  5. mortenjensen thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    #5
    kernel-task is running 33-43% - would that be a proces running for a while since it is a fresh installation and Spotlight needs to perform some scanning?
     

Share This Page