Is enterprise data plan needed to receive exchange email

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by khkman22, Jun 15, 2009.

  1. khkman22 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    #1
    Is it possible to set up an exchange email account on the $30 personal data plan instead of the $45 enterprise data plan? I tried, but am not sure if I have the server name correct, or it may just be our IT contractor hasn't set us up to use email for wireless devices. So, before I brought him in to look at it, I wanted to make sure that it was possible and he would be able to get it set up when he comes in.

    Also, if it is possible to use on just the personal data plan, what is the advantage to the enterprise data plan or what can it do that the personal plan can't?
     
  2. angle macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan
    #2
    Works just fine for me! Same with the calendar. Fast as well!
     
  3. dagomike macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    #3
    Kind of curious about this also. I go through the web access and not the same server as the Blackberries. IT refuses to support anything buy BB -- they can't get those working right as it is. I was wondering if this enterprise data plan would address their issues.
     
  4. lrdiaz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Location:
    North America
    #4
    I have been using a personal exchange account with the regular $30 data plan, it syncs mail, contacts, and calendar.
     
  5. spampyre macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #5
    The $45 enterprise data plan is a scam. Everything that is advertised as requiring it works perfectly fine in the normal $30 data plan. My thought is that maybe tethering will require it once they turn that on, though.
     
  6. Houls macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    #6
    Yes

    I have the standard data plan and sync with my companies Exchange Server. My boss just got a Pre so we had big issues at first getting the Pre and iPhone to connect after we switched to SSL. It definitely takes some IT know how if you use SSL Active Sync.
     
  7. StoneColdSober macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    #7
    You do not need the enterprise data plan. I have 14 iPhones all connecting to our exchange server without a hitch. AT&T at first tried to get us to buy the enterprise plan and I told them to stuff it as it wasn't required (I don't fault my sales rep, I think he was just repeating what he has been trained and didn't know any better).

    Now for Blackberries, IIRC, it is different. My understanding is that because of how BB's connect and sync remotely, the enterprise plan is required.
     
  8. dave006 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    #8
    No difference in capability only in the support of VPN access questions / issues (you get a dedicated help team (sort of)).

    To access Exchange your device has to be authorized and yes the IT guys can see exactly what device you are using before you ask that next question.

    Enterprise Data is required on some Accounts. For example the AT&T BusinessTalk plan for the iPhone requires the Enterprise Data Plan for iPhone, providing unlimited data for $45 a month.

    Dave
     
  9. StoneColdSober macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    #9
    I am not sure what the Business Talk Plan is but my company is on an enterprise plan with 20,000 shared minutes and at first they told me it required the enterprise data plan for $45.00 and I said I wouldn't pay that much, they put me on the $30.00/month plan and it works just fine (and yes I am positive it hasn't been changed to the $45.00 enterprise plan as I pay the bill every month).
     
  10. khkman22 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    #10
    So is there anything (on the iPhone) that MUST have the enterprise plan? I am new to this so I don't know what all is possible through these data plans. Also, I thought I read somewhere that VPN is possible on the iPhone. If it is, what would that be used for and how would it work?
     
  11. StoneColdSober macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    #11
    As of today, I am not aware of anything on the iPhone that requires the enterprise plan. That may change with tethering (the pricing really isn't different, this was the one time I had to get the enterprise data plan but it was $60 for regular data with tethering and $60 with enterprise data and tethering - this was before we got the iPhones and were using BlackJack II's and could tether).

    There is the option for using a VPN but I have never really found a use for it and never fought to get it working.
     
  12. cwosigns macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    Columbus,OH
    #12
    Same here, except my exchange account is corporate. No problems at all.
     
  13. khkman22 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    #13
    Thanks for all the info. This information will help in our cost analysis to see if our plans will be part/fully subsidized by the company and $15 savings per line I wasn't previously aware of will help. It's a small business so only the owner would probably have the tethering option and I am aware that that is $60 for this analysis.
     
  14. StoneColdSober macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    #14
    Not to discourage you or imply I know something I don't, but there have been rumors that the cost of tethering my go up. Why AT&T would do this is beyond me. When they release the iPhone 3G they changed the data pricing to be inline with that of other smartphones. I cannot see them charging more for tethering than they do other smartphones (unlike others, I have no issues with AT&T), but anything is possible.
     

Share This Page