Is FLAC my best bet?

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by summitRun, Jan 5, 2012.

1. summitRun macrumors regular

Hey all - first post in this forum (I've read and searched a lot)

I would like to rip my collection of about 100 CD's to a USB flash drive in some type of loseless format that would give me the best chance to use it across multiple device platforms...i.e. car audio w/USB support, PC, tablet etc. While I have a current gen MBA I dont like the idea of tying myself into iTunes long term

Basically what I am asking...if you take Apple products out of the equation is FLAC the most universally accepted format among all the loseless formats out there? If not which would you suggest? I would like to do this once and be done with it and then deal with conversion as necessary for use with iTunes.

Oh, and for ripping... XLD vs Max vs. RIP? No need to elaborate...just vote if you like one. Thanks much!

2. simsaladimbamba

How big is your USB flash memory thumb drive?
    64 GB? If so, even that can't hold 100s of CDs in a lossless format or even compressed format like MP3 using a low bit rate of 192 Kbps.

Anyway, I ripped my CDs (300 or so) using iTunes and the MP3 codec with a bit rate of 256 to 320 Kbps.
    As I am not an audiophile, I can live what that.

3. summitRun thread starter macrumors regular

Yeah, I have a 64 GB Drive. So far I have burned 3 discs for reference (Killers, Franz Ferdinand, 10k Maniacs) they were all between 275 and 400MB on ALAC. So I conservatively figured 400x100=40GB with 24 GB for new music. I'm assuming FLAC and ALAC would be similar in file size.

I just thought it would be nice to have one little flash drive in a loseless format that I could take anywhere and box up my CD's for good

4. simsaladimbamba

Okay, then my math was off, as I had FLACs using a bit rate of more around 900 Kbps in my head.
    And as you wrote "100s of CDs", I thought you really meant hundreds as in four, six, seven hundred or so.