Is Handbrake CPU or GPU intensive...

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by slick316, Dec 19, 2008.

  1. slick316 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    #1
    I mean, which matters most? Both?

    I am working a lot more lately, just stuck sitting in an office all day. I need to finish ripping my DVD collection, so I figure I would do it on my office PC.

    At home, on my Windows PC, HB encodes quick, like 90fps or something (I have a Q6600, 4GB ram, 768MB 8800GTX, etc.).

    On my MBP, it will go at about 30fps.

    But my office PC, wow, its slow as heck. Its a 2.66ghz C2D 3mb L2 cache 1066FSB, 2GB ram, but the video card sucks (X3100 or whatever that onboard Intel POS is), and it encodes at about 15fps.

    Is that normal? I thought it should at least match the MBP. Or do I need to have something on it checked? Seems to run fine, has no BS software installed, same as my home PC really. I should mention its a Dell Vostro 200.

    Any suggestions? I have about 15 DVD's left to do, but I might not bother until I can do it at home since its so much quicker.
     
  2. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #3
    CPU intensive...

    of course a quad core is going to encode quickly because it has 4 cores.. the work computer sounds like a piece of crap.
     
  3. slick316 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    #4
    Hmm...something is definitely wrong with that PC then, 15fps seems awfully slow when the processor should be fast enough.
     
  4. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #5
    ther is probably stuff going on in the background, virus checks... tasks from other computers etc
     
  5. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #6
    Probably has really slow RAM or harddrive. There has to be something bottlenecking it.
     
  6. slick316 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    #7
    I figured it out, doesn't even make sense.

    I unplugged my external hard drive, as soon as I did this, the FPS jumped up to 50. It seems to be hovering around 45fps right now, which sounds better to me than 15fps.

    I know its a Dell and was only $500, but really, the USB controller slowing down the computer?
     
  7. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #8
    once again, virus checkers??? they suck a lot of CPU.

    were you saving to the external USB drive?
     
  8. slick316 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    #9
    Drive wasn't in use. I plugged it in a couple hours ago, couple a few documents, and thats it. The computer isn't doing a single thing other than Handbraking.
    Its new, about 2 weeks old. I pretty much work for myself, and set the computer up myself. No goofy software on it. Avast for anti virus, Office 2007, VLC for videos, and Handbrake (Firefox also).

    I guess there could be an issue with the external hard drive, maybe I should run a disk check on it or something?
     
  9. Chase R macrumors 65816

    Chase R

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Location:
    PDX
    #10
    Very CPU intensive. Hopefully with Snow Leopard (Open CL) it will utilize both the CPU and GPU for faster encoding of movies.
     

Share This Page