Is handbrake safe?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by FiremanMike, Jul 3, 2012.

  1. FiremanMike macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    #1
    Forgive me for being gun-shy, this little macbook is the first mac I've owned since the days of the Mac IIe, I've been a PC user for a long time.

    I have a lot of DVDs that I want to import into my iTunes. I have yet to understand why it's so easy to import a CD but so difficult to import a DVD. Anyhow, it seems handbrake is the program of choice for importing DVDs.. When I loaded it, it said the 32 bit drivers were incompatible and I needed to download some library file for the 64 bit operating system.

    Is this a safe thing to do? Is handbrake really that great? Am I just paranoid because I'm a reformed PC user?

    Thanks
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    Yes, Handbrake has a good reputation and is perfectly safe.
     
  3. stuaz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    #3
    I use Handbrake on my MacMini (as I use it as a media server) and its great as a convertor tool and I have never had any issues with it.

    (You can also get it for Windows ;))
     
  4. charlieegan3 macrumors 68020

    charlieegan3

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Location:
    U.K
    #4
    Depending on your location and the DVD versions you have it may not be legally safe. It's not going to harm your computer in any way.
     
  5. FiremanMike thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    #5
    Yeah, I tried it before on my PC and had terrible results. Audio offset from video by half a second, completely bogged down my system, inconsistent video results, crashing, etc..

    Ripping a dvd now, here's hoping..
     
  6. Dangerous Theory macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    Depends on weather conditions and how fast you are driving. I would want to pull the handbrake at 90 mph. [​IMG]

    ...Oh, you mean the software? Yes. Perfectly safe.
     
  7. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #7
    Too funny! :D
     
  8. FiremanMike thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
  9. WardC macrumors 68030

    WardC

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    #9
    It's not safe for a laptop -- it will burn your chip up and result in a system meltdown, and burn your house down. This is why I avoid this, and trust a larger machine like a Mac Pro, only, when running these kinds of apps.
     
  10. Mal macrumors 603

    Mal

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Orlando
    #10
    I can't tell if you're being sarcastic (in which case it's probably a little too subtle for the internet) or are just really are that dumb (I hope not, and don't be insulted if you're not).

    In case anyone reading this doesn't already know, you cannot burn your house down by running a piece of software. Overheating computers shut down, they don't spark fires.

    WardC, again, I hope it was a joke, but I suspect it's a bit too subtle for the masses.

    jW
     
  11. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #11
    Based on a few other of his posts I've seen, quite likely!
     
  12. Dangerous Theory macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    Hahaha. C'mon now, he's being sarcastic.
     
  13. Mal macrumors 603

    Mal

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Orlando
    #13
    Thanks guys. I've seen a few of his other posts now, so I'm sure you're right. Just came across borderline, and I've been seeing a lot of stupid things lately. WardC, no harm done, right?

    jW
     
  14. ECUpirate44 macrumors 603

    ECUpirate44

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Location:
    NC
  15. kettlecorn macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    #15
    all i know is, my computer gets butt hot when using handbrake.
     
  16. CrAkD macrumors 68040

    CrAkD

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #16
    is handbrake safe for your computer? absolutely. Is it safe for your free time and wallet? thats debatable. those "few dvds" will turn into "all dvds" then "all blurays" then you need a big raid system to store your new movie library. then another raid array to backup said movie library. then hours tagging and organizing. Handbrake is a gateway drug into less money and time. beware!
     
  17. FiremanMike thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    #17
    Ok, next question

    anamorphic - strict vs "keep aspect ratio" vs loose
     
  18. blkprlz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Location:
    Tampa Bay
    #18
    'Little notebook' isn't very descriptive, listing your hardware & software is huge (either with your post or in your profile). :D



    I've heard of how heavy handbrake is :eek: :eek: w/o higher ram & ssd's.
    I'm thinkin' that only 'burn your house down' is :rolleyes:. Yeah, burn ur chip up & sys meltdn is stretching it but I think he's trying to make a point.
    Heavy lifting should be performed on larger machines if ur gonna run :cool:.
     
  19. Big-TDI-Guy macrumors 68030

    Big-TDI-Guy

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    #19
    There are a LOT of different settings you can employ - and no "correct" answer, because everyone has different expectations and usage.

    I'd suggest reading up on the forums relating to Handbrake, or search Google for what in particular you're looking to encode.

    I'd also suggest using a program to up the fan speed to help keep temperatures cooler. Things can get toasty, and the fact is, cooler temps = longer lifespan for just about any component. SMC Fan Control works well for this.

    You'll find (unfortunately) that the best settings don't apply to everything, especially so with animated content.

    Just be sure to thoroughly test your first encodes on ALL the devices you wish to use it on, before you go and process your entire library. ;)
     
  20. Fuchal macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    #20
    If you were playing back via Windows Media Player on your PC, know that WMP tends to offset audio in MP4 files by about a second. I was wrestling with this for an entire day at work a few weeks ago and ended up just encoding a WMV file. The actual file Handbrake generated was fine, it was just WMP that couldn't play it properly.
     
  21. mykelala01 macrumors 6502

    mykelala01

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    #21
    Have you tried Ripit

    http://thelittleappfactory.com/ripit/
     
  22. jcpb macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    #22
    Intel isn't the only company that realized years ago that consumers are increasingly moving away from desktops as their primary computers.

    Is it better to do the encoding on a desktop? Sure, as desktop CPUs have twice the thermal headroom available to go Turbo with, with orders of magnitude better cooling options on tap. If you prefer, you can chill it with liquid helium. Does this mean CPU-intensive jobs belong exclusively to the desktop? Hell no.
     
  23. boomhower macrumors 68000

    boomhower

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    #23
    If running your CPU at 100% for extended periods damaged your laptop Apple did a piss poor job designing it. I've used handbrake to encode for years. From junk Dell notebooks to my current MBP and have never had a problem. It's the best free piece of software I've ever used.
     
  24. pHeNom macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Location:
    Houston TX!
    #24
    define "safe"

    Ive been using it for 3 years now. Great product!
     
  25. Yuke macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    #25
    Ripit and Handbrake serve slightly different, but complimentary purposes.

    Ripit takes a DVD and produces an ISO (or .dvdmedia file) that applications like DVD Player will recognize as a DVD. It's about as easy as it gets for getting the raw contents of a DVD into a format you can store on your HDD. However, unless your player of choice supports raw DVD rips, you'll need to re-encode/convert using a program like Handbrake. Ripit is also commercial software and costs a little bit, but it's come up in bundles and sales before, so iyou have a good chance of getting it at a discount.

    Handbrake converts the DVD-format audio and video to a movie file (.mkv, .mov, .avi, etc...) that generally takes up less space and is playable in a variety of different players. It's complex and has lots of different options to tweak, but has sensible defaults. (I'm not 100% sure that it won't directly rip DVDs - I've always used it on ones i've previously ripped. It's entirely possible that intermediate step isn't 100% necessary anymore) In any case, Handbrake is totally free.
     

Share This Page