Is iCloud all I need for back up?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by dloreski, Jul 26, 2012.

1. dloreski macrumors member

I have a 13" MBP and an 11" MBA.
    I have very little data to back up, but I need to make sure I don't lose it.
    Basically I have about 400MB of photos in iphoto.
    From my reading, it seems that icloud will safely store this and will sync them and update them for both computers as things change.
    The important things that I need backed up are about 20MB of Word documents and 10MB of PDF files.
    Will icloud back those up, and if so, will it keep updating the files as they change?
    Thanks!
    - Dave

2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

I always recommend backing up to an external drive, no matter what online backups you have. You may need to access a backup when you have no internet connection. I use Carbon Copy Cloner to make a bootable clone of my drive, so if my drive ever crashes, I can immediately boot up from the backup drive.

3. old-wiz macrumors G3

never ever have a single source of backup.
    And what if you need the files and your internet connection is down?

4. hafr macrumors 68030

A part from the obvious benefits of having a physical disk with a backup close to the computer, you could also look at having multiple online solutions. Wuala, Dropbox, Syncplicity, SpiderOak, Google Drive, SkyDrive are just some of several options that will be invisible and seamless solutions for you.

They all offer more than enough space for your need, all for free, and they're pretty well established. Personally, I have all my documents in the Dropbox folder, then I'm using Syncplicity as a secondary online backup for them, together with a Time Machine backup on a hard drive connected to my router.