Is it a bad idea to get a Macbook today?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by mr.owl, Nov 2, 2010.

1. mr.owl macrumors newbie

Hi everyone, really need your advice.

I have an extremely old macbook (nearly 6 years old) that I am on now, and it's close to dying. I really really want to get a new one.

I've been checking the 'mac rumours' page and it says "Buy only if you need it - Approaching the end of a cycle"

I was originally planning on holding out for a new release, but I'm getting really impatient and I want to go to the mac store and buy a macbook, TODAY.

I just wanted to ask if this is a totally bad idea? Is the new macbook, when it comes out going to be that much different from the current one? I'm no mac expert so if it's just going to be subtle differences then I'm not even going to notice them.

Should I wait? Or does it not really matter? Is the new release going to be that much better?

thank you

2. hamlin macrumors regular

I don't think anyone knows the specs of the new macbook coming out(if it is) but I have the mid 2010 macbook and it's great. What are you going to do with it? Surf the net and watch vids? If so this macbook will work great. If you want to play games you should just get a pc.

3. ohmsy macrumors newbie

What are the odds Apple releases a new mac book this month?

4. mr.owl thread starter macrumors newbie

Pretty much. Surfing, blogging..etc. I like to make the odd iMovie every now and then.

Does anyone know if the next macbook is going to be different in terms of looks, weight, size...etc? Or will it most likely be a few spec changes. :confused:

5. tactician1016 macrumors regular

tactician1016

Looking at the pattern, the MacBook line will probably update around January. The spec change probably won't be too drastic. If you need it, get it.

6. happle macrumors 6502a

at the earliest the new mb wont come out till the end of january. but it could be a few months after that. no one really knows.