Is it bad that I almost never use the 9600 on my MBP?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by vader1990, Jul 5, 2009.

1. vader1990 macrumors regular

Hi,

I really needed a laptop for college back in OCtober 2008--I was a freshman engineer and my old laptop couldn't really handle the basic things I was throwing at it--like full screen youtube videos!

So I took the leap in October, when Apple first announced the Unibody Line-up. A lot of people told me I was foolish to buy into a Rev. A line-up, but I really needed a laptop, and I loved the new designs, and features.
    I bought the 2.4Ghz, 2GB, 250GB, 9400+9600, 15"

Fast-Forward, about 9 months. I LOVE my MBP. I have used it quite a bit [187 cycles, 94% Health; just to give an idea of my usage.]

Now my issue, I almost never use the 9600! Like, I do a lot of work with MATLAB, Xcode, and Eclispe, often having 2 of them open at once+my normal stuff like Mail and Safari running; and I see no slowdowns, even with only having 2GB RAM. And I still get around 4+ hours of battery life, with 50% brightness. Its really awesome.

But will not using the 9600 be deterimental in anyway? I feel bad sometimes for having spent on a feature I dont use--9600! Did I make a bad choice? See, I watch A LOT of HD movies on my laptop--720/1080p--so I felt the 15'' would be better to watch them, but I always had a HDTV in my dorm room, so...Did I make a bad choice? I love my laptop A LOT! But I dont use its only "pro" feature :(

Will the OpenCL or w/e in Snow Leopard make a big difference in performance with the 9600?

Should I switch the card to 9600 anyway and not look back?

Sorry for the long post, but I need some comforting, a bunch of people made me feel really bad about this purchase last night :(

2. shambo macrumors 6502a

shambo

SL will use the extra processing even if you don't.

3. Frosties macrumors 6502a

Frosties