Is it capable to run Leopard?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Sdahe, May 14, 2008.

  1. Sdahe macrumors 68000

    Sdahe

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    San Juan, PR
    #1
    How would I know if my MBP is capable of running Leopard?...

    Thanks
     
  2. aaronw1986 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #2
    Yes, of course it is! You know because it meets the requirements, and is a very good machine.
     
  3. Sdahe thread starter macrumors 68000

    Sdahe

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    San Juan, PR
    #3
    Well, the thing is that everytime I install Leopard it doesn't convince me... it seems to kill my computer. It's always running very hot and sometimes seems chunky... maybe I need to format my hard drive and istall it again... or do a hard format than install it... help please!!!
     
  4. aaronw1986 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #4
    Then perhaps something is wrong with your computer. My runs it fine. What is very hot? Do you have exact temperatures?
     
  5. Sdahe thread starter macrumors 68000

    Sdahe

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    San Juan, PR
    #5
    140˚ to 160˚

    is that too hot?
     
  6. aaronw1986 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #6
    Fahrenheit I assume? My is about 122 Fahrenheit idle..
     
  7. Sdahe thread starter macrumors 68000

    Sdahe

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    San Juan, PR
    #7
    Well, I'm going to try Leopard for the last time and see what happens... Everyone I know is running Leopard in their macs and everything is running OK... so why can't I?...
     
  8. aaronw1986 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #8
    Something is wrong...
     
  9. squeeks macrumors 68040

    squeeks

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #9
    yeah i mean seriously, you have one of the fastest MBPs if it cant run leopard there would be no point in apple selling the OS
     
  10. Sdahe thread starter macrumors 68000

    Sdahe

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    San Juan, PR
    #10
    Well, I installed Leopard in my MBP and now I'm downloading all the updates so I will let you know how is working so far. Here are the temperatures as of now... which one is the most important to look at?... I mean there is CPU A, CPU Diode, CPU Heatsink, etc.....

    These readings are in Fahrenjeits...

    [​IMG]
     
  11. Sdahe thread starter macrumors 68000

    Sdahe

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    San Juan, PR
    #11
    Todays Update:

    Almost 24 hours with Leopard and everything is running fine. Temperature is fine and all the applications I use are running OK...

    Nice!!!
     
  12. powerbook911 macrumors 68040

    powerbook911

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    #12
    Good to hear. I was going to say, I even have Leopard on my old Powerbook.
     
  13. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #13
    Good to know your computer is in good condition.
     
  14. Sdahe thread starter macrumors 68000

    Sdahe

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    San Juan, PR
    #14
    wow... it's amazing how the heat can change things... Now I'm staying in Miami and inside the house the have AC all the time so my MPP is always under 120˚... it's working super fine now... cool
     
  15. Burnsey macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #15
    Just an FYI, the CPUA is the one you should be concerned about. Although monitoring them all is important as well. The other ones are GPU stuff.
     
  16. raymondu999 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    #16
    Wow! What's that? A MacPook Pro? Lol sorry mate... just givin' you a hard time;)
     

Share This Page