Is it essential to back up before downloading?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by McVickety, Jul 20, 2011.

1. McVickety macrumors newbie

I was wondering whether it was essential to back up all files before install or whether they will transfer over with the download?

I'm new to this type of thing!

2. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

Umm, yeah.

You're installing a new operating system. Always have a back up before any work done on your system.

3. iStudentUK macrumors 65816

iStudentUK

Lion should leave your files intact. However, I would strongly recommend backing up before installing, things can go wrong.

Don't you back up on a regular basis anyway?

4. paulsalter macrumors 68000

paulsalter

Not essential, it will just upgrade you to Lion and keep things in tact

It is wise however, to have a backup of your system, you never know when things will go wrong

5. SimonTheSoundMa macrumors 6502a

Yes, do a backup.

I have had two machines that lost all their data when upgrading from Tiger to Leopard.

Just do not take the risk with Lion.

6. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

Apple has given us a great backup tool. There's really no excuse not to back up and I think its risky not backup your system before upgrading your operating system as i posted earlier

7. Skyhigh223 macrumors regular

No need to back up at all.

The installer won't touch any of your files.

However, there is always a very small chance that something will go wrong. I'd reccomend backing up your most important files to a memory stick/CD/DVD before you go ahead. If you have the ability to do a full system backup to an external hard drive or something similar, do it.

Don't listen to the scaremongers.

8. Takuro macrumors 6502

Takuro