is it my graphics chip - pictures enclosed

Discussion in 'iMac' started by eddiedredge, Aug 11, 2007.

  1. eddiedredge macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    #1
    HI all,

    Ok so this my dilemma. I brought a iMac from ebay (never ever ever again ) its the isight G5. When I got it I ran it for about an hour with no errors. However it all of a sudden froze. So i waited 20mins then turned it off. When i restarted it it kept getting stuck on the first blue screen with images like so:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    These are not always the same and appear at different times during the boot up. I very rarely get to the desktop. The odd thing however is if I start in the safe node (pressing down SHIFT) I have no graphic problems whatsoever s far. This means however that things like wireless won't work and sound.

    So i took it to the apple shop and they think its the graphics chip and that i need a whole new logic board. However my issue with that is if it the graphics chip how come the graphics are fine when I start in safe mode? Maybe I'm just stupid and not understanding. Can anyone help?

    The most annoying thing is, is the machine apparently have apple are till 2009 (was told by the tech at apple) but as i don't have receipt (except my ebay invoice) and the precious owner didn't transfer the apple care they won't honour it even though its plain for all to see that it still linked to the serial number of my machine.

    Any how help would be appreciated?
     
  2. andrewheard macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #2
    I'd eliminate any chance of it being a software issue by reinstalling OS X.
     
  3. eddiedredge thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    #3
    Ah forgot to mention in original post but when i took it to the apple store he said that he booted from an external hardrive! is it still worth doing a fresh install
     
  4. miniConvert macrumors 68040

    miniConvert

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Location:
    Kent, UK - the 'Garden of England'.
    #4
    That looks pretty clearly like a GPU problem to me. Anything you can test the system with, ie Techtool Deluxe? That diagnosed a video card problem on a Mac Pro for me recently, though it also didn't diagnose another faulty video card... it can be hard to get a definitive answer. In the second instance, the faulty GPU was causing system lockups as well as graphical distortions.
     
  5. eddiedredge thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    #5

    so if it is the GPU would that mean a new logic board?
     
  6. aliquis- macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    #6
    Looks like one of the pixel pipelines/shaders aren't working as it should longer, that is yes I think your graphics chip are faulty.

    I guess it works in safe mode because drivers which supplies accelerated graphics aren't loaded aswell so all effects are made using the CPU instead of 3D-parts of the GPU and therefor you don't notice any errors.

    I guess you could login to ebay again, find the seller and ask him/her if he/she can transfer their applecare over to you.

    Or just beg Apple until they fix it since they know it's covered with AppleCare anyway.

    If nothing else works mail steve ;D
     
  7. aliquis- macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    #7
    Since it's not a separate graphics card and/or might be soldered onto the logic board I guess so (since they said so ..)

    But try to get them to honor your AppleCare protection, maybe next time you contact them tell them that the seller mentioned that he had applecare until 2009 for it in the ad and ask them if they can find bla bla whatever number and help you send it in.
     
  8. eddiedredge thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    #8
    Hi,

    just to keep you updated. I register all my details via the registration on line and today phoned to speak to mac support again and chatted with a chap alled Axel who said "no problem we will honour the warranty as its linked to serial number" So took it in today for repair. Result. Thanks for help guys. And just goes to show that if you take the answer of the first person you speak to you could lose serious money (that was supposed to b e profound)

    regards Eddie
     

Share This Page