Is it normal not to be receiving 3G yet?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by AbjectEvolution, Jun 19, 2009.

  1. AbjectEvolution macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    #1
    It has been almost 2 hours since I bought my 3GS and my phone still isn't connecting to 3G. Should I be worried?
     
  2. fireshot91 macrumors 601

    fireshot91

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #2
    Mine hasn't either. Does yours just not show a 3G icon?

    I'm too scared to try safari with wifi off.
     
  3. macfanboy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    #3
    its normal if theres no 3g in your area
     
  4. HarrisonB macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    #4
    why are you scarred?
     
  5. map1978 macrumors 68020

    map1978

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2006
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    #5
  6. fireshot91 macrumors 601

    fireshot91

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #6
    I don't want to be overcharged for data using on the iPhone when I mistakenly don't have a data plan
    That's what's weird though, I have full 3G coverage in my area. My brother's iPhone 3G gets 3G right next to mine.
     
  7. AbjectEvolution thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    #7
    Yes of course I get 3G in my area. I would know if I didn't and I wouldn't be asking.

    The 3G I sold today had a 3G connection, and right now... my new 3GS STILL does not connect to 3G and the maps cannot find my location. I can't browse the internet or check my mail unless I'm within my wireless network.
     
  8. AbjectEvolution thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    #8
    Ok... apparently maps can find my location now, but I think it's only because I'm within my wireless network. 3G still isn't working. I'm trying to login to the AT&T webpage, but it wont let me. I wonder if my plan is screwed up.
     
  9. fireshot91 macrumors 601

    fireshot91

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #9
    Did you have teh first iPhone before?
     
  10. dccorona macrumors 68020

    dccorona

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    #10
    did you make sure 3G is turned on?
    mine got turned off somehow, not a clue how
     
  11. AbjectEvolution thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    #11
    Yeah 3G is on.

    When I setup the phone in the store, the guy told me to chose the zero data plan because he wasn't sure if choosing my current data plan again (1500 or something) would make ATT charge me again. I don't think he knows what he was talking about. Does 3G have anything to do with your data plan?
     
  12. AbjectEvolution thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    #12
    Ok... lol... get this...

    I just called AT&T and the lady told me that the 3G network and therefore the internet will not work on any iPhone 3GS until the end of the summer. I told her that everyone else on the internet has a 3G connection and I asked her if she is telling me that everyone else is just crazy, and she said "yes that is exactly the case."

    WTH...
     
  13. fireshot91 macrumors 601

    fireshot91

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #13
    Lol. I'd call again.

    She probably meant 7.2 HSDPA or whatever it's called.
     

Share This Page