Is it ok to have 2 2Gb Ram Modules

Discussion in 'iMac' started by GustavPicora, Sep 12, 2010.

  1. GustavPicora macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    #1
    Hello, Im planning to put some more memory to my iMac 27 i7 mid (2010), I have found that some people has 6GB what says they have 3 modules, I hadn't been into this topic long time, but when I was at school, in Computers Architecture subject, I remember that it was better to have modules paired, 2,4,6 ... not impaired.

    but right now im not sure.. :p.

    Suggestions?.

    Thx

    Gustavo
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    You can have 3x2GB. In the past, memory had to be installed in pairs but that's history, modern memory controller don't need paired RAM. Installing them in pairs will enable dual-channeling though but that's negligible in real world
     
  3. GustavPicora thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    #3
    Yep, I understand about the history thing when pairing. And about the dual channeling, thats what I had in my mind, if it's something I will see or notice.

    G.
     
  4. aliensporebomb macrumors 68000

    aliensporebomb

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN, USA, Urth
    #4
    Shrug

    I keep hearing you CAN do it but I also see anecdotal responses from users here running into freezes and problems by adding a single module.

    What do I know? I added two fours to the original twin twos for a total of 12 gigs and haven't looked back.
     
  5. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #5
    According to Apple, it should work fine as long as the single module is installed into top memory slot meaning that both bottom slots are populated
     

Share This Page