Is it ok to install unmodified 3.1.2 on my 3GS...

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by RRRize, Feb 12, 2010.

  1. RRRize macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    #1
    Is it ok to install unmodified 3.1.2 on my 3GS if I want to jailbreak and unlock?
     
  2. pcs are junk macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    #2
    no. you cannot upgrade/downgrade to anything but 3.1.3. which isnt jailbreakable on the 3gs with the new bootrom.
     
  3. RRRize thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    #3
    Well, my 3GS has already been jailbroken in 3.1.2 but is having issues (1600 error). So I was wondering if I attempt to install the Apple 3.1.2, perhaps that will bring it back to being bootable and then I can jailbreak it again with the modified 3.1.2 I created with PwnageTool. No?
     
  4. ngenerator macrumors 68000

    ngenerator

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Location:
    USG Ishimura
    #4
    Apple stopped signing 3.1.2 for the 3GS, so the only thing you'd be able to restore to is 3.1.3. That is, unless you have your SHSH saved on Saurik's server. You'd be able to check that status on the first page in Cydia at the top. It'll say something like "this device has a saved file" or something (I'm not sure, I still have a pending request, lol)
     
  5. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #5
    Yes, unless you have your shsh's saved thru cydia you can't restore at all to anything but 3.1.3
     
  6. pcs are junk macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    #6
    what jailbreak method did you use? if you used blackra1n or redsn0w, and had to rerun them every time u wanted to boot up. thats a tethered jailbreak, which is the new bootrom. some say that sn0wbreeze can jailbreak the iphone 3gs old bootrom, and the new version of pwnage tool is supposed to running 3.1.3. you cannot downgrade. if you've already used pwnage tool to jailbreak, you can restore with a custom firmware. the firmware can be 3.1.2. you cannot downgrade to apple's unmodified 3.1.2 firmware, only pwned.
     
  7. ngenerator macrumors 68000

    ngenerator

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Location:
    USG Ishimura
    #7
  8. RRRize thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    #8
    I'm not exactly sure what method was used to jailbreak my iPhone. I bought it from some dude on Craigslist and it was working fine till I decided to wipe it clean with the erase function in the iPhone. I bought it already jailbroken but not unlocked. So I'm guessing it has (or had) the modified 3.1.2 on it (I checked before I wiped it and it had 3.1.2).

    I just downloaded a iPhone2,1_3.1.2_7D11_Restore.ipsw file. This is not the custom restore that is created with The PwnageTool. It appears to be an Apple ipsw file. Should I give it a shot or should I just chill out?
     
  9. RRRize thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    #9
    Somehow I knew someone would come and do this. As you will see, this post is different than my other post. My other post is dealing with solutions to the 1600 error. I started THIS post because wanted to see if I should/could restore Apple's 3.1.2 and then try installing the modified one AFTER since the modified one does not seem to be working.

    It's 2 different aspects: 1 dealing with the 1600 USB error and the other dealing with the firmware - and wanted to see if I could isolate the issue. That's all. Hope your head-gasket is not totally blown and we can still be cool.
     
  10. pcs are junk macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    #11
    no, you should not restore to the unmodified firmware. you should use pwnage tool 3.1.5 and use it in expert mode.
     
  11. RRRize thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    #12
    But PwnageTool 3.1.5 only upgrades me to 3.1.3 right? I don't want to go to 3.1.3. I want to be able to unlock the phone. More info on what your idea is please.
     
  12. pcs are junk macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    #13
    in expert mode, browse for the 3.1.2 firmware file wherever you downloaded it to. then click on the first block thing or whatever and go through all the crap. then when your done with that click build.
     
  13. RRRize thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    #14
    Alright. I'll give that a shot. Thanx!
     
  14. RRRize thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    #15
    This didn't work. Thanks for the hope tho! : ) I'mm still at it... anyone have any solutions, PLEASE post! Thanx!
     
  15. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #16
    Just start another thread ! :eek:
     

Share This Page