Is it possible I am pushing my MBP to the limit

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by technicolor, Jul 14, 2007.

  1. technicolor macrumors 68000

    technicolor

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Location:
    ><><><><
    #1
    I didnt think I was but it seems to be having major performance issues.

    I have a Rev A:)( ) MBP 15inch 2.0 CD with 2 gigs of ram

    Its slow and staggering and freezing and pausing. It has me beyond the brink of frustration at this point.


    This is what I am doing..

    Im running Photoshop CS3 working on a 700mb file
    Running Illustrator CS3 working on the same file back and forth between opening it with PS and Ai.

    I have a tv show going in VLC in the corner.

    Firefox is open as well as adium.


    My computer freezes and beach balls to death. Typing in adium is slow the letters show up in the box one at a time with seconds delay. VLC pauses and freezes and I get the message that my computer may be to slow. There is even a delay in adjusting the volume.


    Ive rebooted a thousand times.

    Also checked activity monitor and its only using 1.5 of the ram and the processor doesnt seem to be taxed.

    Any thoughts?
     
  2. Alloye macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Location:
    Rocklin, CA
    #2
    In Activity Monitor, under the System Memory tab, do you have a high number of Page ins/outs? If so, you may be using a lot of virtual memory (a.k.a. swap). This will greatly slow down the computer.
     
  3. technicolor thread starter macrumors 68000

    technicolor

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Location:
    ><><><><
    #3
    408056/466931

    Is that high? If so how do I reset it?
     
  4. Alloye macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Location:
    Rocklin, CA
    #4
    Those numbers are pretty high if you have recently rebooted. They indicate you've encountered situations where physical memory was depleted and OS X was using space on the hard drive to compensate. The only solution is to buy more RAM to meet the needs of your software.

    FYI, the Page in/out counts get reset every time you reboot. When you see the out statistic start to grow at a rapid rate, it means your software is demanding more memory than your installed RAM can provide.
     
  5. technicolor thread starter macrumors 68000

    technicolor

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Location:
    ><><><><
    #5
    Wow!
    Thanks for the help.

    That is crazy. Yes those numbers are from a reboot not even a hour ago. My computer is maxed out of ram.
     
  6. Alloye macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Location:
    Rocklin, CA
    #6
    You're welcome.

    BTW, you did say you were working on a 700MB file in two rather memory-hungry applications at the same time. That alone is more than enough to saturate 2GB of RAM.
     
  7. technicolor thread starter macrumors 68000

    technicolor

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Location:
    ><><><><
    #7
    I work in Ps, when I am done I send the file to AI and hide PS.

    I guess I wasnt aware of how intense they were. I thought my MBP could handle it along with the net, vlc, and messenger.
     
  8. Alloye macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Location:
    Rocklin, CA
    #8
    It's not so much that your MBP can't handle it. Any computer would be in that situation with the workload you describe. One thing that is a factor for laptops is that when the OS starts paging, it is usually quite noticeable. Laptop hard drives are generally slower than their desktop counterparts.
     
  9. zioxide macrumors 603

    zioxide

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    #9
    Yes, you're definitely pushing that laptop to the limit. :eek:
     
  10. ktbubster macrumors 6502a

    ktbubster

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Location:
    US
    #10
    hmmmmmm.... that is a bit to the limit, however as you can see in my sig I have the same computer you do but with only 1.5 ram and while I have had a slow down while running multiple programs in the CS3 suite and a movie in VLC or a DVD and messenger and all that I have had a little slowdown depending on how big or how many files, but NEVER anything as annoying or bad as what you are describing. It seems that maybe you have a bad stick of ram or something that is reading it but not utilizing it to it's full potential. I am not sure ofcourse, just a possibility? It just seems like you shouldnt be etting that bad of a slow down as I haven't with similar work loads. :confused:
     
  11. hdsalinas macrumors 6502

    hdsalinas

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Location:
    San Pedro Sula, Honduras
    #11
    I constantly use adobe Photoshop, Illustrator, Bridge (all CS3) at the same time. In photoshop I work with 60 to 100 MB files and usually have 2 or 3 files open at the same time. For the most part it works great but sometimes I have noticed that PS freezes with a spinning beach-ball that last for a minute. This is very annoying and happens randomly after attempting to perform very simple tasks.

    I upgraded my ram from the original 1Gb to 2GB and it gave me a nice boost in performance. But after a few weeks the new found performance seems to have faded away.... well maybe I just got used to the 2GB of ram and dont notice it anymore. I now find myself wanting to upgrade my MBP to 3GB.

    Anyone have the same issues with photoshop CS3?
     
  12. miniConvert macrumors 68040

    miniConvert

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Location:
    Kent, UK - the 'Garden of England'.
    #12
    I can't speak for the CD MBP's, but my CD iMac's are considerably slower than my C2D models.

    If you cut down on the background tasks you're running (ie anything other than CS3) then your experience may improve. Also, ensure you have plenty of HDD space free - it'll slow down even more if there aren't large chunks of free space available for your page file and work files.

    Otherwise, depending on whether you think your workload is likely to get more intense or not, you might want to consider the new SR MBP's. They're really quite incredible in terms of performance, and you'd have all that added room for RAM. Could be a nice upgrade!
     

Share This Page