Is it possible to attach a second internal hard drive?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by tbluhp, Jun 14, 2013.

  1. tbluhp macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    What model MBP are you talking about?
     
  3. tbluhp thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    #3
    Model Identifier: MacBookPro9,2
     
  4. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #4
    If you have a MacBook model with an internal optical drive, you can replace the optical drive with a bracket like this that holds a second internal drive. If you search the forums for "data doubler" you will find tons of posts from others that have done this.
     
  5. someguy50 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    #5
    Data doubler as mentioned above. Gotta love cMBP
     
  6. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #6
    Yes, you can replace the optical drive with a HDD or SSD. You can also search the forum for threads on "optibay". You'll find dozens of threads, including instructions on how to do it.
     
  7. tbluhp thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    #7
    thanks cause I can't find any internal hard drive that is 2.5 inch and is 2tb
     
  8. someguy50 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    #8
    1.5TB is currently the largest, I believe
     
  9. tbluhp thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    #9
    OH what is this all about?

    Dual Bay Docking Station for Most Internal SATA Hard Drives
     
  10. saturnotaku macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    #10
    Those are external devices that connect by USB or FireWire.
     
  11. tbluhp thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    #11
    which one is a better pick the owc or the mce? I own a external blu ray player that reads dvd's will I still be able to use idvd?
     
  12. tbluhp thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    #12
    Why isn't we can't put in a 3.5 inch hard drive are their converters for this? I did google it nothing.
     
  13. Crzyrio macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    #13
    The 3.5in is thicker than a 2.5in and therefore would not fit in your MB
     
  14. tbluhp thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    #14
    bummer so out of the two companies owc and mce what is a better brand?
     
  15. Crzyrio macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    #15
    To be honest it is personal preference, go with your gut feeling. They will both perform just as well and are fairly easy to install.

    When I did this I simply picked up a cheap enclosure of Amazon for 20$ and a HD of the shelf.
     

Share This Page