Is it possible to clone one touch to the other?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by iMpathetic, Apr 13, 2008.

  1. iMpathetic macrumors 68030

    iMpathetic

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    IMBY
    #1
    Yeah...

    I got another iPod touch and I wanna get all of my stuff on it. I was wondering, could I just clone the contents of one to the other? Like, with SuperDuper?
     
  2. Hierotochan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    #2
    Can't you select the "back up from" in the sync menu?
     
  3. EvanLugh macrumors 68000

    EvanLugh

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    Developer land
    #3
    iMpathetic - I don't think it can be done, I would be very surprised, music, content and viewable directories of course but a full clone, I really doubt it mate.

    Good luck
    ;)
     
  4. iMpathetic thread starter macrumors 68030

    iMpathetic

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    IMBY
    #4
    Well, I actually don't care what happens to one of them cause it's not actually mine. The owner wants hers fixed cause she pulled it out while running ZiPhone. :eek: She wants hers jailbroken, and mine is, so why not clone them?

    Because the iPod touch OS is basically modified OS X, I could just connect the two to my Powerbook and clone them as I would two laptops in Target Disk mode. Theoretically.

    I'll try later, I guess. Keep your fingers crossed.
     
  5. EvanLugh macrumors 68000

    EvanLugh

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    Developer land
    #5
    I suppose in theory it's possible, but seems like a complicated way of fixing it. :)p)

    I'm quite knowledgeable (if I may say so :eek: ) if you need any help give me a shout!

    Best,
    eL

    EDIT: What about putting it in DFU and if you have access to a Windows computer, format it, then OSX disk utility copy? Just a thought.
     
  6. iMpathetic thread starter macrumors 68030

    iMpathetic

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    IMBY
    #6
    Could you explain that last bit in idiot language?
     
  7. EvanLugh macrumors 68000

    EvanLugh

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    Developer land
    #7
    I made this up, logically it will work but I've never put it to the test. I'm looking for a work around now. Don't hold me responsible, you've done this entirely at your own risk. I am English.

    Sure,

    getz da ipod rite, put it into da windoze PC (personal computah)

    Okay,

    1. Get the iPod which you gotta resurrect
    2. Connect it to a windows computer which has iTunes
    3. Make sure iTunes is closed
    4. Hold down home and off (or whatever) READ 5 NOW
    5 --- only hold off (or whatever) for 10 seconds [exactly] keep holding home
    6. Windows will recognise the iPod in DFU mode
    7. You should be able to go to My computer -> properties -> Device manager and see it
    8. Or you can goto My Computer and see it as a disk.

    READ 10 BEFORE 9

    9. Right click it, format it. - *probably won't work, but might. 50-50 chance.

    10. Or whilst in DFU mode don't format it, go to iTunes and restore it.
    11. Go to your mac, add the iPod but don't register etc, use Disk utility to copy whichever iPod it is and try moving it over.
     
  8. iMpathetic thread starter macrumors 68030

    iMpathetic

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    IMBY
  9. EvanLugh macrumors 68000

    EvanLugh

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    Developer land
    #9
    TUAW Link - Not sure if it's what you're looking for.

    NTFS or FAT32
    - I'd prefer to leave you to do this, this is the point where it could get fudged up. Personally, I would try the iTunes option first, if that isn't the way you want to go, NTFS it then format it in Mac and follow steps. But I can't be certain, I've never done it I'm just going on basic disk guidelines and would love for someone to correct me, but I'm 90% certain, I just don't know the effect.
     
  10. PMB macrumors 65816

    PMB

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    New York
    #10
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU like Mac OS X; en) AppleWebKit/420.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.0 Mobile/4A93 Safari/419.3)

    I think you are taking a large risk here, and should just restore, and go through the jailbreaking process, instead of screwing up sompthing BIG time
     
  11. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #11
    AFAIK, all iPods are formated with FAT32.

    FWIW, the Mac OS can only read a NTFS partition. It cannot write without third party software.
     
  12. imfrog2002 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    #12
    Isn't there a little program called Misu? *cough*

    EDIT: Okay, I reread through, and I think that you'd be better off just restoring and jailbreaking...
     
  13. iMpathetic thread starter macrumors 68030

    iMpathetic

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    IMBY
    #13
    Nah, it was broken anyway.

    But, I did download 1.1.4 and use ZiPhone on it. Easiest $10 I ever made. :D
     

Share This Page