Is it Possible to connect Time Capsule thru MyWi tether?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by 3goldens, Apr 29, 2011.

  1. 3goldens, Apr 29, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2011

    3goldens macrumors 68000

    3goldens

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    #1
    this may be a crazy thought, but I wondered if there was a way for me to connect my time capsule to my mywi tether connection.

    What I would like to do is use my iphones unlimited plan at home with my laptops and computers, apple tv, netflix which are now currently getting their connection all thru the Time Capsule and my cable router.

    Would love to eliminate the cable and just use my back up iphones unlimited plan, nut I am guessing its not possible to connect the time capsule by either USB or wifi and I would have to abandon the time capsule set up, which I am not sure I would want to do.

    Perhaps thru the usb of the macbook pro and connect the time capsule by way of the ethernet?

    Would that connection allow me to set up a wireless connection?

    Any ideas appreciated!
     
  2. Sparky9292 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    #2
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    What you want is to set the router to repeater mode which is very common. Basically it joins another network and strengthens the signal.
     
  3. nebo1ss macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    #3
    I am at a loss as to what you are trying to achieve. Time capsule is also a dual band wireless router. Both your phone and your macbook pro are capable of working wirelessly.

    Why would you not connect your timecapsule to your Router and connect everything else wirelessly using the wifi capability of the timecapsule.

    Wifi is always going to be a better cheaper faster solution than 3G.
     
  4. 3goldens thread starter macrumors 68000

    3goldens

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    #4
    I am trying to achieve the elimination of my Internet cable and using my backup iPhone's unlimited plan and maintaining a wi fi network within my home, i.e. being able to connect to the time capsule, and hook. up my Apple TV, and whatever else I need to, obviously not using them all that same time.
     
  5. DirtySocks85 macrumors 65816

    DirtySocks85

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Location:
    Wichita, KS
    #5
    As far as I know you should be able to run your Time Capsule in bridge mode, although I'm not sure the specifics on the set-up, and I don't have access to a TC to test it. I will give a word of warning though, that cellular providers are cracking down on unauthorized tethering (particularly AT&T), and it seems that large amounts of usage are tipping them off, which I can only imagine how much replacing your home internet connection with your phone would do.
     
  6. Sparky9292, May 3, 2011
    Last edited: May 3, 2011

    Sparky9292 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    #6
    Nah, don't do bridge mode........ it's similar but not what you want here... That's only for Cabled Ethernet connections...

    Via Airport Utility in your Applications Utilities folder...

    Click on AIRPORT->WIRELESS->WIRELESS MODE->Extend a wireless network. Then select your iPhone's network...

    I have a 1GB time capsule BTW.

    Yeah it will piss of AT&T but hell, we are paying them $150 for two phones each month! Need to get my money's worth.
     
  7. 3goldens thread starter macrumors 68000

    3goldens

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    #7
    Amen to that brother!

    I'll give it a go....no way to use the usb port I guess right?

    My internet service at home is not as demanding as one might think, not a gamer and don't do a lot of downloading of movies, occasional net flix maybe, mostly web and email!
     
  8. scarboni21 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    #8
    Is it really worth saving the 40 bucks to have a horribly slow connection? Netflix would be damn near impossible to watch if someone else logged on.
     
  9. 3goldens thread starter macrumors 68000

    3goldens

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    #9
    When I try this it says "The network you selected can not be extended!
     
  10. outphase macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
    #10
    That's probably because other Apple products may be aware that you're trying to use an iPhone's connection. For example, using the native Personal Hotspot tethering, an iPad will see a different icon for the connection instead of the normal Wifi icon. This may be happening on a Time Capsule to prevent extension of the network.
     
  11. W.A.S.P. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    #11
    You can use G3 from iPhone!!

    YES IT CAN BE DONE! I have been looking for many many, months (hours) looking for the answer. Buying bits cable, looking on the web only to find no answer to the question. USB/ WiFi tether to Apple's time capsule with no success to show for it. UNILT NOW...... Yeah It can be done.

    I don't have a landline. So no ADSL, No Broadband. I only have an old iPhone (Jail broken) 5 with a sim card contract. Just a mobile with 3G. Its been like this for a few years and its been good, as my old land line was only getting 4-5Mgs download. It was rubbish. Now Im looking at 20-29 My iPhone can power every device in the house all at the same time, but I felt My over powering Tc could do a much better job. The job it was design to do.

    When I bought the Tc i knew my iPhone would not power it up, Which I think is poor on Apple behalf. However I always believed one day I could get it to work. I bought many different cables. They don't. I promised. Ok this is how I got it to work.

    I bought A TP-LINK TL-MR3020 (this will be your router) costs about £30. Got my iPhone to see it over Wifi, then connect the TP-Link to Tc by 10/100 RJ45 port. Tc now is in Bridge Mode. works as the Hub, iMac, MacBook Air, iPhone, Tv, DVD, Nest and, even WD My Cloud everything works of My Tc.

    Any questions Just ask.
     
  12. DeftwillP macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    #12
    Well I'd glad that put this 4 year old mystery to rest!

    That being said, isn't it hard to find an unlimited provider nowadays and one that doesn't throttle at that?
     
  13. varakj macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2016
    #13
    Hello
    I just got the TL MR3020 based on your suggestion-
    Can you help me with a more detailed description- i have a tablet which provides the wifi internet connectivity now.
    Help appreciated.
     
  14. W.A.S.P. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    #14
    I'm really sorry I had not seen your massage until now, I decided to change you set up a little, I use a TPlink SIM card wifi router this work with 3 & 4 G. I hard wire Time capsule into TPlink works great.
    --- Post Merged, Apr 14, 2017 ---
    I'm really sorry I had not seen your massage until now, I decided to change you set up a little, I use a TPlink SIM card wifi router this work with 3 & 4 G. I hard wire Time capsule into TPlink works great.
     

Share This Page