Is it possible to erase my computer and make it work using Target Mode?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by iPowers, Apr 15, 2008.

  1. iPowers macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Location:
    Arizona
    #1
    My old ibook g3 is going through a kernal panic and everything else I tried didn't work, so I wanted to get a Mac OS X installation disk that was 10.3.9 or lower but I don't have one and i wanted to ask is there a way to erase and install everything, but make it work like new again using target mode?
     
  2. FJ218700 macrumors 68000

    FJ218700

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Location:
    Blue Dot, Red State
    #2
    when it's booted into T-mode and connect to another Mac, you can clone a system onto it from the Mac it's attached to.

    that would be breaking the EULA though.
     
  3. J@ffa macrumors 6502a

    J@ffa

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2002
    Location:
    Behind you!
    #3
    What? No it wouldn't. If the iBook had 10.3.x on it when you bought it, and the attached computer you cloned to the iBook also had 10.3.x on it, it's fine. If the target system has 10.4.x, of course, you are doing naughty things to the EULA, but that's your business. I doubt Apple's legal team, mighty as they are, are going to hunt you down for the sake of an iBook G3.
     
  4. iPowers thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Location:
    Arizona
    #4
    the problem is though that that laptop is an ibook g3 and runs 10.3.9 and the one i'm using is in intel imac 10.5.2 there is no way it would work.

    Couldn't I do something like disk utility to erase it and then it will reinstall itself or something.
     
  5. FJ218700 macrumors 68000

    FJ218700

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Location:
    Blue Dot, Red State
    #5
    both 10.3.x's would have had to originate from a family pack.

    it's not worth arguing over though.
     
  6. FJ218700 macrumors 68000

    FJ218700

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Location:
    Blue Dot, Red State
    #6
    not without a template
     
  7. J@ffa macrumors 6502a

    J@ffa

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2002
    Location:
    Behind you!
    #7
    I just mean, if the iBook had 10.3 on it anyway then it doesn't really matter. Say you had a MacBook that was going on the fritz, and you had a similar situation to the OP so you restored your friend's drive onto your MacBook. You've still achieved the same end result. It's a moot point anyway, considering the other machine is on 10.5.2.

    iPowers, if you don't have the install discs you can call AppleCare and they'll send you a replacement set of discs (basically everything you were originally given in the little Apple envelope of CDs/DVDs). They usually charge about $20 for this.
     
  8. iPowers thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Location:
    Arizona
    #8
    What do you mean by a template?
     
  9. iPowers thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Location:
    Arizona
    #9
    Alright I'll keep this in mind. Thanks for the help


    And also for the mach_kernal file, it said ffor it to work it needs to be replaced, could I try something like deleting that file and then it will remake it?
     
  10. FJ218700 macrumors 68000

    FJ218700

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Location:
    Blue Dot, Red State
    #10
    an install disk or otherwise a system to clone from
     
  11. iPowers thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Location:
    Arizona
    #11
    Could I try using something like Tech Tool Protogo and use it on the broken computer and it will work again?
     
  12. FJ218700 macrumors 68000

    FJ218700

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Location:
    Blue Dot, Red State
    #12
    sorry, I'm not familiar with Tech Tool Protogo
     

Share This Page