Is it possible to force OS X to use 40Mhz Channels?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by jryee, Dec 22, 2016.

  1. jryee macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    #1
    So Apple prevents the use of 40 Mhz wide Wifi channels at 2.4 ghz to prevent interference with bluetooth. My router is already broadcasting at 40 Mhz, is it possible to force OS X to use the wide channel with some sort of hack/tweak?

    I have an early 2014 Macbook Air.
     
  2. campyguy macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Location:
    Portland / Seattle
    #2
    Not AFAIK. Two homes and 5 offices that I run, this has been an issue to deal with. Solved by naming the 2.4 and 5GHz networks differently - "Fast" and "Faster", for example, and connecting to the 5GHz "named" network is my fix that works perfectly. I'm not the IT "guy", rather the company owner - it's a simple option that just works. Prioritize the networks in the Network Pref Pane. My Airport and AP networks have no issues now.
     
  3. jryee thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    #3
    Yeah my 2.4 and 5 ghz SSIDs are different too. 5 ghz speeds are no problem. It's just 2.4 ghz wifi gets better penetration throughout my house so it would work better.
     
  4. campyguy macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Location:
    Portland / Seattle
    #4
    Got it. Penetration is the reason I moved to set up APs in one of my residences and all of my offices, connected to TP-LINK TL-PA8030P powerline units. My offices are field offices, generally in the client's buildings - powerline's easier than stringing cable for the short time we're in one of them. Cheers...
     
  5. Left4DeadBoy macrumors regular

    Left4DeadBoy

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    #5
    hi Because you refer to those channels in the sense of wifi it isnt . If you were referring to music channels from MacBook Airs sound bar then it would be p-ossible to increase volume .
     

Share This Page