Is it possible to have apps installed twice? ...

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by cmeisenzahl, Nov 7, 2011.

  1. cmeisenzahl macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    #1
    I got a new 4S from the Apple store Saturday, a replacement for a possible hardware problem I had last week.

    When I got home I restored it on iTunes to the backup I'd made before going to the store. Everything seemed pretty good.

    But I noticed that for example Angry Birds was still installed, but when I look in the App Store it didn't show as installed. I downloaded it again and it showed up twice on my iPhone. I've seen a couple examples of this.

    Any ideas on what's happening, and what the work-around is?

    Thanks!
    Chris
     
  2. Small White Car macrumors G4

    Small White Car

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #2
    You sure you don't have the paid and the free Angry Birds installed? They offer both versions and they both look very similar.
     
  3. r2shyyou macrumors 68000

    r2shyyou

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Location:
    Paris, France
    #3
    Do both of the duplicate apps work? Can you delete one with the other remaining on the phone and have it still be functional? I haven't encountered this particular issue so I can't speak from experience but I'd just try to delete one and go from there.
     
  4. cmeisenzahl thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    #4
    I suppose it's possible, I'll double-check.
     
  5. netslacker macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #5
    I made this exact same discovery here a couple of nights ago. Two Angry Birds! I was like, WTF? Anyways, it wasn't, same error as stated: free vs paid.

    I then confused AB Rio with another copy of AB when looking at their data in iCloud. Since all it says is "Angry Birds" for both of them. Too many AB versions!!!
     
  6. Hankster macrumors 68020

    Hankster

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #6
    Often times users will have different versions of the same app. Even updated apps sometimes show up as its own icon.
     
  7. asen89 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    Hmm I never experienced this before, but once I had an app on my iPad and a copy of that app showing loading just beside it. I simply deleted that app.
     
  8. Mindy60 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    Location:
    Houston, TX USA
    #8
    I recently had this same problem on one of my iDevices, not sure which. But what I did was delete it on the device and then in iTunes on my desktop PC. It went away then. Hope you find the solution!
     

Share This Page