Is it possible to lock the ringtone volume??

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by felixen, Sep 18, 2009.

  1. felixen macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    #1
    This is one of the few things that really annoy me about the iPhone. if I turn the volume down when playing a game or whatever, the volume will be low when I get a call. I wish they were two separate volumes like on any other phone.

    So my question is if I can somehow lock the volume of the ringtone so even when I have the volume turned very low, my ringtone volume will be the same as always
     
  2. Clete2 macrumors 65816

    Clete2

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    I don't think this is possible on a stock iPhone.

    Jailbreaking might yield more results.
     
  3. ViViDboarder macrumors 68040

    ViViDboarder

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #3
    It already does that.

    Just make sure that sound is playing in the game you're using and turn down the volume. Then you'll notice that the HUD doesn't say anything about Ringtone. Your ringer volume will stay loud.
     
  4. felixen thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
  5. ViViDboarder macrumors 68040

    ViViDboarder

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #5
    Only downside is that sound has to be playing... which is not always convenient if it's set really loud. :p. Holding a finger over the speaker can quiet that down while you adjust the volume though. Low Tech solution FTW!
     
  6. felixen thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
  7. mackmgg macrumors 65816

    mackmgg

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #7
    Or you could doubletap the home button with the screen off, that volume is the sound/music volume not the ringer volume
     
  8. ViViDboarder macrumors 68040

    ViViDboarder

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #8
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile/7C144 Safari/528.16)

    If you have it set to iPod. I was going to say you could open up the iPod app and change the volume there too. I think that'd work too.
     

Share This Page