Is it possible to properly retrofit an ACD Cinema Display?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by PowerMac G4 MDD, Apr 11, 2017.

  1. PowerMac G4 MDD, Apr 11, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2017

    PowerMac G4 MDD macrumors 68000

    PowerMac G4 MDD

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Location:
    At the intersection of Conch and Coral.
    #1
    I got a 23" HD Cinema Display for free, but it has VERY slight pink-cast going on. I saw a video where someone put a different panel into their little Studio Display, and I am wondering if I could do the same with my own, except use a nicer panel. I'm wondering how to do it, whether I simply put in the new panel or completely gut the OG monitor and insert the new monitor's innards.

    Wondering if there's a compact-enough display out there that would work (whose innards would fit within the Cinema Display case). Also, I'd need to find a full-screen display, rather than wide.

    Has anyone ever done this with larger Cinema Displays? (I'm talking about the acrylic ones, BTW).




    EDIT: I actually listened to the audio for this video, and it seems that the guy didn't end up using the HP's panel for the monitor. However, I could very well do something like this on my display. I just have to make sure that there isn't some odd, proprietary mounting hardware.
     
  2. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #2
    Commenting to subscribe to this thread. I would very much like to see where this conversation goes.

    Realistically, it should be possible given the current (smaller) dimensions of panels and components these days [one would think].

    Best of luck!
     
  3. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #3
    I also wonder if this is possible. I have one of these displays which matches Macs of the period well, but found myself wishing for the better color reproduction of modern panels. It also has the pink-tint issue, and although software ColorSync calibration has helped, it's a bit worse around the edges.

    If you find one with the appropriate dimensions and decide to attempt, do let us know how it goes.
     
  4. greentofu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    #4
  5. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #5
    I'm certain this won't resolve the pink tint issue, as the tint is uneven and seems to occur inside the panel as it ages.
     
  6. PowerMac G4 MDD thread starter macrumors 68000

    PowerMac G4 MDD

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Location:
    At the intersection of Conch and Coral.
    #6
    Wow, great resource. However, I am thinking that it isn't the fault of the bulbs. I feel as though it's an issue with the display itself, as it ages.

    I don't have much time right now to put in a new screen; however, I could try it over the summer - all assuming that the bulb replacement doesn't achieve anything. However, I would first need to find a modern screen with such dimensions. Anyone know of one? Very few modern screens nowadays are full like this one is.
    --- Post Merged, Apr 11, 2017 ---
    BTW, I am wondering if I can retro-fit one with LEDs. Of course, that's a separate topic.
    --- Post Merged, Apr 11, 2017 ---
    First thing I have to know is if the panel itself, from a newer monitor, will connect up alright. Of course, that would require me to still need to be using ADC. Perhaps I could just pop the ADC cable out and have HDMI and power running out that slot. I'd leave the cables there permanently.

    Kind of scary to think about doing this on my nice model, but I suppose it's not like I'd want to use it in its current state. I could also try this on a Studio Display, but I'd need a whole different donor model.
     
  7. PowerMac G4 MDD thread starter macrumors 68000

    PowerMac G4 MDD

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Location:
    At the intersection of Conch and Coral.
    #7
    I realized that it would be difficult to deal with power buttons and screen adjustment buttons, when adding in a new display. I think I will just set the display to a brightness setting that I like (since I never adjust brightness anyway), and let the monitor go into power save mode when I want it to be off. (Otherwise, I unplug it, if it's going to sit for a long period of time). This way, I don't need to edit the display's case in any fashion. I can simply run the cables out the slot at the back and call it a day.

    One thing that scares me, though, is finding a panel that can fit into the ORIGINAL and UNEDITED assembly. Is that possible?
     
  8. Fishrrman macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #8
    Even though you received the old display for free, sumthin' tells me this project is going to prove to be more troublesome and expensive than it's worth!
     
  9. greentofu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    #9
    It will be fun to just retrofit as a hobby skill
     

Share This Page