is it possible to restore to firmware 5.0?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by cruzer-u3, Nov 18, 2011.

  1. cruzer-u3 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    #1
    got an iphone 4 locked by AT&T
    4.2.1
    modem firmware 3.10
    no saved any SHSH
    do I have chance to restore it via custom firmware 5.0?
    to save me basband?
    let me know please,if any one have ideas
    thanks
     
  2. HPLouis macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
  3. ylerT macrumors regular

    ylerT

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #3
    Unfortunaly, no. Apple has closed the signing window for 5.0. However, you can just as easily update to 5.0.1 and preserve your baseband. They are both tethered anyway so it's basically the same deal.

    As of right now, redsn0w has not been updated to create a custom baseband preserved IPSW. Their site says that it has but I've tried multiple times with different phone firmwares and it just doesn't work. However, if you have a PC, you can use sn0wbreeze to create a custom version of 5.0.1 and preserve your baseband.
     
  4. cruzer-u3 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    #4
    so what should I do?
    custom firmware 5.0.1?
    or wait for untethered jailbreak?
    what do you think?
    thanks

    ----------

    thanks for helping
    so untethered jailbreak 5.0 if come,doesn't matter for me?
    right?
    I never able to restore it to 5.0 firmware :(
    it is possible only for these people have SHSH
    right?
     
  5. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #5
    No, even with shsh blobs u cannot restore to 5.0
    New security implemented by Apple.
     
  6. cruzer-u3 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    #6
    now I hove 2 chooses

    1- stay on 4.2.1
    2- custom firmware 5.0.1

    do you recommend to upgrade to 5.0.1?
    I am using Gevey (unlocked method)

    thanks
     
  7. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #7
    I would stay.
    A tethered jb is a pain and also many jb apps havent been updated yet for 5.0.1
     
  8. cruzer-u3 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    #8
    thank you very much for supporting :)
     
  9. KevinC867 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Location:
    Saratoga, CA
    #9
    Is that a 5.0.1 issue? I had no problems using redsn0w to create a custom IPSW for iOS 5.0. My iPhone 4 reports "Modem Firmware 01.59.00".

    ----------

    I'm very happy with my iOS 5.0 jailbreak. All the jailbreak apps that matter to me have been updated for iOS 5. I preserved the baseband with redsn0w and I'm using the SemiTethered hack from BigBoss, so there is much less concern about a reboot. You should have pretty much the same experience with 5.0.1. Plus, you can always revert to 4.2.1 if you saved your shsh blobs.
     
  10. cruzer-u3 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    #10
    your firmware is 5.0 but we talking about 5.0.1
    I can not use semitether on 5.0.1 & also don't know how my Gevey SIM CARD works on 5.0.1
    I got this phone yesterday & didn't save any SHSH before
    even 4.2.1 :(
     
  11. ylerT macrumors regular

    ylerT

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #11
    Yes, it appears to be a 5.0.1 issue. Their blog site reports that it's compatible with 5.0.1 but it just gives you errors when you point it to that IPSW. I've tried both 3Gs and 4 firmware with the same results. However, if your phone is on 5.0.1 and you need to boot tethered or anything, pointing redsn0w to 5.0 works just fine.


    If you are using a Gevey I'd highly recommend staying on 4.2.1 for the time being. The couple 4's we've done with a Gevey on 5.0 or 5.0.1 with a preserved baseband have been such a hassle. I've had to do a bunch of deactivations and such using SAM to get the Gevey to work properly. Once you have it up and running and activated properly, it works perfectly. However, the first time getting T-Mobile up seems to be a big hassle with the phone jailbroken.
     

Share This Page