Is it possible to select a High Sierra external boot drive in Mojave?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by machenryr, Jun 10, 2019.

  1. machenryr macrumors 6502

    machenryr

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    #1
    I’ve upgraded to 10.14.5. But I’m not ready to fully commit. I still have my main docs and apps in a Sierra I put in an external enclosure. But I can’t get it to boot.
     
  2. bookemdano macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #2
    What's your GPU? Does it show boot screens?

    Assuming it doesn't, then the way to select a different boot drive is via System Preferences > Startup Disk. You have to unlock it with your login password, then highlight your HS drive and click the reboot button. You would go through the same process when you want to return to Mojave.
     
  3. machenryr thread starter macrumors 6502

    machenryr

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    #3
    Yeah. I’ve done that. I’m in a rehearsal. I had to take the external drive out of it’s enclosure and put it in bay 1. I’m on MacPro 2009 5,1 10.14.5.
     
  4. crjackson2134 macrumors 601

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #4
    What type of Buss is your external enclosure connected to. USB 2, USB 3, FireWire, eSATA, etc...

    USB 3.0 isn’t bootable on the cMP btw...
     
  5. machenryr thread starter macrumors 6502

    machenryr

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    #5
    No. Really??? Usb 3 isn’t bootable? Damn. The OWC enclosure also has eSATA but I don’t think I can use that. Is there that connection on a MacPro 2009?
     
  6. machenryr thread starter macrumors 6502

    machenryr

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    #6
    I do have other enclosures that are FireWire. Damn. It’s just so hard sometimes. Lol.
     
  7. crjackson2134 macrumors 601

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #7
    you can plug it into a USB 2 port and it should boot fine. You just won't be able to boot from a USB 3.0 add on card.

    USB 3 booting (from a usb 3 add in card) isn't supported in the cMP firmware.
     
  8. machenryr thread starter macrumors 6502

    machenryr

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    #8
    The enclosure only has usb 3 and eSATA. Sad. The Mac only has FireWire 800. Another enclosure has the same box style 800 fw. Luckily I have two adapters 800 to 400, but I suppose Mac won’t be fooled.

    For the time being I’m going to have to keep the older HD in the bay until I’ve made the full transition.
     
  9. krishnaM macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2014
  10. crjackson2134 macrumors 601

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #10
    You can plug the enclosure (USB3) into any of the cMP "native" USB2 ports and it should work fine. The problem I was intimating was that if you have installed a USB3 PCIe card as an upgrade, you can't plug it in there and expect it to be bootable (many people have done this by mistake). The drive is usable only as a data drive when plugged into a USB3 port on an upgrade card. It's should be bootable if plugged into you USB2 ports, but it will only have USB2 speeds.
     
  11. jbarley macrumors 68040

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #11
    Your Mac Pro has 2 free eSata ports on the mother-board.
    Use something such as this and you're good to go.
    https://eshop.macsales.com/item/NewerTech/MPQXES2/
     
  12. machenryr thread starter macrumors 6502

    machenryr

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    #12
    Cool. So this is PCIe card? Rather it fits in the PCIe slot? Ordered. Thank you.
     
  13. jbarley macrumors 68040

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #13
    I take it you have an eSata cable to connect your OWC enclosure to this unit?
     
  14. machenryr thread starter macrumors 6502

    machenryr

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    #14
    Yes. I’ve bought enough of these dual enclosures. I just collect them.
     
  15. tsialex macrumors 601

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #15
    No, it's the 2008 that have SATA ports for the ODD but use PATA. MP4,1 and MP5,1 don't have any available SATA ports.
     
  16. jbarley, Jun 11, 2019 at 7:53 AM
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2019 at 8:01 AM

    jbarley macrumors 68040

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #16
    Maybe we should bring that fact to the attention of OWC, they are not often wrong about their products.
    This is a real bummer for those of us who trust in their info when making purchases.
    Screen Shot 2019-06-11 at 7.46.15 AM.png
    Edit:
    Just watched this install video and it shows how they do it by borrowing the unused Optical drive Sata port as seen in this video.
    https://eshop.macsales.com/installvideos/macpro_2009_esata/
     
  17. tsialex macrumors 601

    tsialex

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    Brazil
    #17
    The only wait that I see this cable being used with a MP4,1 or MP5,1 is if you disconnect the SATA data cables for the ODD bays. But I don't really know if it will fit correctly.
     
  18. machenryr thread starter macrumors 6502

    machenryr

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
  19. jbarley macrumors 68040

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #19
    From watching the install video the cable fits just fine.
     
  20. crjackson2134, Jun 11, 2019 at 9:32 AM
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2019 at 9:46 AM

    crjackson2134 macrumors 601

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #20
    I have a bare logic board in front of me now. The only connections available on the 4,1 or 5,1 board are the optical bay connectors period.

    If you notice in the video, he removed an optical disc connector I order to install this. I believe OP already has those in use by SSD’s installed in his optical bay. He would have to sacrifice using the optical bay drives on at least one port, to gain one external port.

    Btw, these can be easily damaged on some boards where the connectors get stuck at the plastic union that separates the twisted-pins coming off the LB. It can be difficult if not nearly impossible to repair.
     
  21. haralds macrumors 6502a

    haralds

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Silicon Valley, CA
    #21
    The right PCiE cards work like a charm and may be faster than the main ports.
     

Share This Page

20 June 10, 2019