Is it possible to use a EGPU to add another processor for FCPX?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by rueyloon, Dec 16, 2016.

  1. rueyloon macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    #1
    Hello

    hi, would using an EGPU add another graphics card that would benefit rendering and exporting for FCPX?
    or must it totally bypass the internal graphics card?
     
  2. slughead macrumors 68040

    slughead

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    #2
    To start: I can't answer your question

    However, eGPUs on mac are real buggy right now on OSX (read: barely functional) and even have a few bugs on win10 (though it's much better).

    I'd bet no, not yet. If so I think you'd have to run an external monitor off the card to get FCPX to do it, however I'm mostly talking out of my butt.
     
  3. Synchro3, Dec 16, 2016
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2016

    Synchro3 macrumors 68000

    Synchro3

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #4
    Depends of the Mac you have. With Thunderbolt 1 Mac's you have to edit six kext's and all is up and running: http://forums.macrumors.com/threads/building-external-gpus-on-mac-egpu.1893792/

    With TB 2 or TB 3 Mac's some tools/workarounds are needed:
    Tool for TB 2 Mac's:http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,11122.0.html
    Tool for TB 3 Enclosures: http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,11654.msg34210.html#msg34210
    or http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,11654.msg36297.html#msg36297

    Note: For good OpenCL acceleration in Final Cut Pro High End Maxwell cards are recommended.

    --- Post Merged, Dec 16, 2016 ---
    I disagree. Apart from disabling SIP, Kext editing after each OS X update, and no hot-plugging, EGPU works fine in OS X. As stable as an internal GPU in a Mac Pro. I'm using a 4K monitor via TB1 eGPU.

    On Windows 10 I only had to plug the eGPU, install Nvidia drivers, and that's it (Mac Mini 2012).
     
  4. rueyloon thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    #5
    Hi, I have a macpro 2013, with this set up will the computer work all GPUs (internal and externals?)
     
  5. Synchro3, Dec 17, 2016
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2016

    Synchro3 macrumors 68000

    Synchro3

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #6
    I don't know, I don't have a Mac Pro 2013. Read this thread: http://forums.macrumors.com/threads/fcpx-amd-vs-nvidia.1956128/page-2#post-22971122 Ask mmomega if he could run his Mac Pro 2013 with his eGPU.

    Must observe the following:
    - Mac Pro 2013 needs this tool from Netkas for monitor output: http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,11122.0.html
    - Mac Pro 2013 needs firmware B17: http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,11655.0.html
    - Nvidia Maxwell GPU's have around twice the OpenCL performance than Nvidia Kepler cards
     
  6. rueyloon thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    #7
  7. slughead macrumors 68040

    slughead

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    #8
    That's good news, I'm happy to be wrong about where things are! Seems like Apple's purposefully making things more eGPU friendly.

    Which is exactly as I predicted and got shouted down here. My poor feefees
     

Share This Page