Is it possible to use two macs power to do one process?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by killwill169, Feb 16, 2009.

  1. killwill169 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    #1
    Hi, I have a big movie that takes hours to convert. I have a ibook g4 and an iMac. Is it possible to hook them up and use both of their cpu to convert the movie, without separating the process?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #2
    Possible yes, and it is something studios do using banks of cheap linux machines and really high speed network connections.

    For somebody in the home, not so much ... unless you want to write your own software.

    Likely getting a newer copy of the SW that wrangles the GPU into the conversion process under Snow Leopard might be a better option.
     
  3. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #3
    Yes, however that is usually a professional feature that costs alot.

    Since your budget seems very low (iBook), it's better to look into an intel mac.

    Some software does it with xGrid, some software does it using custom software.
     
  4. Mousse macrumors 68000

    Mousse

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Location:
    Flea Bottom, King's Landing
    #4
    I assume you're converting a ripped DVD to h.264. If that's the case get an Elgato Turbo.264. It'll convert in near real time and won't cook your iBook. I consider it a must have if you want to convert on an older machine (it works well on Intel Macs too).
     
  5. ihabime macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    #5
    Visual Hub could use xgrid, but unfortunately it's not available anymore.
     

Share This Page