Is it risky to copy 500 GB "in one drop"?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Flying Llama, Jul 20, 2010.

  1. Flying Llama macrumors 6502a

    Flying Llama

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #1
    I have 500 GB that need to be copied over, from one external HD to another.

    This guy I was talking to was convinced that copying the entire folder "in one swoop" would be risky, and that there would be mistakes in the copied data.

    Is this true? Is it better to copy chunks myself, and to wait for each chunk to finish before moving on?
     
  2. macworkerbee macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    #2
    I wouldn't worry so much about the data being copied over properly. You might want to think about the pressure you will put on the drives, constantly writing and reading for hours. Depending on the age and quality of your drives, they might be up to it but you might want to do it in groups, maybe 100 GB? Give the drives a bit of a break in between groups.
    Just my $0.02

    Some will tell you this will be no problem.
     
  3. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #3
    I wouldn't be too worried about it, I've copied over huge amounts of data between drives before and never had a problem.
     
  4. crashmaster1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    #4
    Funny you should ask this... I just started copying 890.98 gigs.... I'll let you know in about 7 hours

    crash
     
  5. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #5
    Is that sig supposed to be an image of something, or a code?

    Oh, too bad! ;)
     
  6. Flying Llama thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Flying Llama

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #6
    haha... my sig isn't code, it's just an image.

    thanks everyone for the input. i'll trust these rather new lacie hard drives to copy 500 gb in one drop.
     
  7. NXTMIKE macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #7
    hmmm...Lacie, don't say that word. I've had bad luck with them.

    But putting aside the brand, you'll probably be fine with the transfer, assuming they're a bunch of small-ish files.
     
  8. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #8
    I tried to "go unfocused" to see an image, but I'm not getting past the two capital Ls at first... probably not what I'm supposed to see.
     
  9. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #9
    I don't know if you're joking or not. But their signature spells LLama. Look at their username.

    You should be fine, let us know the result :)
     
  10. vistadude macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    #10
    It will mac laptops get very hot for a very long time. It's better to do it in 50 gb increments over the course of a day.
     
  11. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #11
    Think about it for a moment, how much data do you copy over during the original Time Machine backup? Hundreds of GB for many users.
     
  12. xlii macrumors 68000

    xlii

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Location:
    Millis, Massachusetts
    #12
    It takes me 2.5 hours to time machine 440GBytes of data on a firewire 800 drive. I'd do it all at once... not a big deal.
     
  13. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #13
    Not joking. Can't see the AMA or ama - meebe 'cause I don't like doctors?

    Is llama more than one poster???
     
  14. slpdLoad macrumors 6502a

    slpdLoad

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #14
    Do it all at once, it will be fine, and you won't be hurting any of your hard drives in any way.
     
  15. Stinkysteve macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Location:
    Westchester County, NY
    #15
    I did a 250 GB and a 300 GB drop two nights ago when I picked up a new Seagate external drive.

    Everything went fine.
     
  16. macrazee macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    #16
    I wouldn't get too worried about it.

    I know there is a Mac program similar to the fantastic Windows TeraCopy which verifies file-by-file and allows you to restart a large file transfer exactly where it failed/dropped off.
     
  17. steerpikegg macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    #17
    I sure as hell wouldn't trust the finder to do it.

    If you are going to do it, do it from the terminal.

    What's more, if something goes wrong, you can just continue.

    eg :

    cp -Rnv <source> <dest>
     
  18. Flying Llama thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Flying Llama

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #18
    Alright, everything seems to have copied correctly. Of course, even the tiniest mistake will only manifest itself at the worst time in the future. :rolleyes:

    (I'm sure these hard drives were designed for such transfers.)

    The terminal idea was good, but I had already done it through the Finder.

    Thanks again
     

Share This Page