Is it safe to install iOS 8 GM?

geeshiet

macrumors member
Original poster
May 26, 2014
New to the iphone world but i was wondering if it is safe to install ios 8 GM on my 5s? I am not a developer btw.

Small White Car

macrumors G4
Aug 29, 2006
Washington DC
It's up to you to define 'safe' but we can definitely say that upgrading this week is the same thing as upgrading next week.

So if you end up deciding that the GM isn't safe enough for you then you should wait until 8.0.1 comes out at some future point.

darkfiber

macrumors 6502a
Jul 13, 2008
Columbus, OH USA
New to the iphone world but i was wondering if it is safe to install ios 8 GM on my 5s? I am not a developer btw.
I installed it a few days ago on my 5s. There have been a few glitches I have noticed in certain apps, but those apps haven't been updated yet for 8.0 so that is to be expected. The performance is as good or better than when I was running 7.1.2. A few times the phone has "resprung" when I was using Safari. Battery life seems to be about the same. Your experience might differ depending on what apps you run.

Definitely do a backup first if you decide to install the iOS 8 GM. Then if you find it is too unstable or certain apps you need do behave because they haven't been updated for 8.0 you can go back to 7.1.2.

However, you might just want to wait for the release in 6 days and after many developers have submitted their app updates.

geeshiet

macrumors member
Original poster
May 26, 2014
Thanks for all the replies, and i also haven't heard anyones iPhones crashing so I probably will download and install iOS 8. My only concern is that some people are stating that it is the final build update for developers.. And some stating it isn't. A little bit confused but i will still install it and and give feedback.

sunsetblow

macrumors regular
Jul 6, 2013
No. No it's not safe. It will literally melt your phone into a puddle of metal goop. That's why they call it a Golden Master.

phillytim