Is it safe to install iOS 8 GM?

Discussion in 'iOS 8' started by geeshiet, Sep 11, 2014.

1. geeshiet macrumors member

New to the iphone world but i was wondering if it is safe to install ios 8 GM on my 5s? I am not a developer btw.

2. Small White Car macrumors G4

Small White Car

It's up to you to define 'safe' but we can definitely say that upgrading this week is the same thing as upgrading next week.

So if you end up deciding that the GM isn't safe enough for you then you should wait until 8.0.1 comes out at some future point.

3. TommyA6 macrumors 65816

Yes, it is safe. This week's GM is the same thing that will be released on Wednesday.

4. darkfiber macrumors 6502a

darkfiber

I installed it a few days ago on my 5s. There have been a few glitches I have noticed in certain apps, but those apps haven't been updated yet for 8.0 so that is to be expected. The performance is as good or better than when I was running 7.1.2. A few times the phone has "resprung" when I was using Safari. Battery life seems to be about the same. Your experience might differ depending on what apps you run.

Definitely do a backup first if you decide to install the iOS 8 GM. Then if you find it is too unstable or certain apps you need do behave because they haven't been updated for 8.0 you can go back to 7.1.2.

However, you might just want to wait for the release in 6 days and after many developers have submitted their app updates.

5. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

BasicGreatGuy

iOS 8 GM is stable. I have not experienced or read about it (in and of itself) crashing anyone's iPhone or iPad. Some apps not working properly is the experience for many (including myself).

6. geeshiet thread starter macrumors member