iPhone Is it safe to Jail-Break with Mobile Substrate not being available?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by nsnarayan10, Dec 25, 2013.

  1. nsnarayan10 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2013
    #1
    Hey,as we are all glad that JB is finally out but since there is no Mobile Substrate available how risky is it to JB.Basically why do we need it and can I still use my JB'en device without issues?


    Kindly help me out before I JB my device.

    Thanks!
     
  2. djplaxe2109 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
  3. nsnarayan10 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2013
    #3
    why would you say that?Kindly elaborate:)
     
  4. bmms8 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    #4
    You can use the search function. The question has been asked multiple times. There is no harm in jailbreaking now and updating the MS in cydia as it comes out....

    If you don't want to do that then just wait, whatever you think is best is best.
     
  5. nsnarayan10 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2013
    #5
    I got you,but what did the other user say its ''useless''?Kindly elaborate if you dont mind:)
     
  6. JOSE891 macrumors 6502a

    JOSE891

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #6
    Personally I am waiting till it's updated and then included in the new Evasi0n Jailbreak by default.
     
  7. bmms8 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    #7
    Because like you stated in your original post, since MS isn't updated yet there is not much that a user can do.
     
  8. nsnarayan10 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2013
    #8
    I got what you are saying but what does MS do?

    ----------

    hmm in what ways the user cant do much?I think if you tell me this my doubt will be over.

    Thank you!
     
  9. djplaxe2109 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    #9
    None of the packages (or very few) have been updated for iOS7 or the 5S. After MS get's updated, more and more devs will begin to push out updates. Until then, you're left with jailbreaking and then scratching your head while asking yourself "now what?"
     
  10. nsnarayan10 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2013
    #10
    oh you mean apps arent compatible with ios7 JB until MS is updated?
     
  11. djplaxe2109 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    #11
    For all intents and purposes, yes.
     
  12. nsnarayan10 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2013
    #12
    Thank you so much bro,but there are some apps that are optimized i was told,I can jailbreak and use those cydia apps without issues?
     
  13. djplaxe2109 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    #13
    Yes, however there are very few that do not use MS.
     
  14. nsnarayan10 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2013
    #14
    ''There are however that dont use MS''?Now what is the risk with that?
     
  15. AlphaDogg macrumors 68040

    AlphaDogg

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Location:
    Boulder, CO
    #15
    Maybe I'm missing something, but I had to install mobile substrate manually
     
  16. stevelam macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    #16
    Learn to search and read threads. There are literally hundreds of posts on this subject alone. People are so useless these days.
     
  17. nsnarayan10 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2013
    #17
    And how?
     
  18. Gmerdude macrumors 6502

    Gmerdude

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Location:
    Everywere
    #18

    No need to be rude guy grow up
     
  19. AlphaDogg macrumors 68040

    AlphaDogg

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Location:
    Boulder, CO
    #19
    With cydia. But it's very glitchy on iOS7 for all devices that aren't an iPhone 5S. For devices that are iPhone 5S, it simply doesn't work at all.
     
  20. Menneisyys2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    #20
    Search Cydia for it. Very simple.
     
  21. jdaniel macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #21
    what is so difficult to understand? most tweaks hacks whatever REQUIRE MS to function. There's no how or why. and if MS is not updated and does not function then the apps/tweaks that require MS will not function.. simple as that THE END
     
  22. Carlanga macrumors 604

    Carlanga

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #22
    Many tweaks, Cydia apps tend to not need mobile substrate
     
  23. From A Buick 8 macrumors 68040

    From A Buick 8

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Location:
    Ky Close to CinCinnati
    #23
    I had the JB but had to remove, Facebook, photos and other apps were starting to crash on open. Removed the JB and all works now.

    This happened because I had tried to load a few of the old tweaks I used to use (but not yet updated) and it must have caused some issues. I am going to JB again, and then just let it sit there until more things update.

    All in all there is no harm in doing it now, you can always just remove it.
     
  24. hackthatphone macrumors 68000

    hackthatphone

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    #24
    Sure why not. Mxtube works fine and trusty old MacMan still works.
     
  25. 3bs macrumors 603

    3bs

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #25
    The problem with that is the jailbreak uses the WWDC app to jailbreak your device so Apple could pull it at any moment and you won't be able to jailbreak. At least that's what I've been reading on /r/jailbreak.

    Just jailbreak and wait for MS to be updated.
     

Share This Page