is it safe to remove this?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by madelyn, Dec 30, 2010.

1. madelyn macrumors newbie

Hi everyone i'm fairly new to mac and loving the switch, could you guys maybe tell me if its safe to empty the cache folder ->

macintosh HD -> Library -> Cache

&

macintosh HD -> users -> my user account -> Cache

do i delete the complete folder (cache) or do i delete whats inside the cache folder?

What other tips are there to keep my mac clean?

thnx for all the help

2. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member

Why would you delete it? There is no need to mess up with system folders unless you have issues. OS X will delete the files it does not need, do not remove them manually.

The best way to keep it clean is to think what you download and put in there.

3. madelyn thread starter macrumors newbie

well i read this article in a mac magazine stating that cleaning the cache from time to time makes your computer run faster and smoother:confused:

but if i understand its not a smart thing to actually do this?

4. John T macrumors 68020

John T

The article could have been referring to emptying the cache in Safari.

5. satcomer macrumors 603

satcomer

I use Yasu about once every three months. IMHO it keeps my 2 year old Mac Pro humming along almost like new. I just suggest after the program reboots your Mac immediately manually reboot again to completely rebuild the shutdown/startup cache.

You could also use Onyx or Maintenance to do similar things.

6. snberk103 macrumors 603

Just let OS X manage it's own caches, and you'll be fine.

If read through the threads you will find a large number are contain "new to Macs" and "thought I'd clean/optimize my Mac". The phrase "thought I'd clean/optimize my Mac" is another way of saying "Thought I'd much about under the hood, without really knowing what I'm doing."