Is it still possible to replace an iphone screen yourself?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by mclld, May 31, 2016.

  1. mclld macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    #1
    I havent replaced one in a couple years(5s), I know someone selling a 6 for $30 but want to make sure apple hasnt locked down self repairs somehow.
     
  2. hockeyman94 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Location:
    California
    #2
    You have to check the imei to make sure that it is not iCloud locked. Here is the URL for that (if the iPhone is iCloud locked you will not be able to activate the phone because it is bricked) :

    https://www.icloud.com/activationlock/

    Then you have to check if the phone has a bad esn make sure you check for the right carrier as well as the imei blacklist (if the imei is blacklisted you will not be able to connect to your carrier) :

    http://www.checkesnfree.com

    After both of these check out you can buy the phone. Make sure it is recognized through iTunes to ensure the phone turns on and will work after the screen replacement.
    Here is the screen replacement guide:


    https://www.ifixit.com/Guide/iPhone+6+Front+Panel+Replacement/31738

    A couple of places to order your screen ( I would recommend buying a tempered glass screen protector as well) :

    http://mayacellularparts.com/apple/iphone/iphone-6.html

    or

    http://www.elekworld.com (better prices)
    Skype - wendyelekworld
     
  3. lordofthereef macrumors G4

    lordofthereef

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #3
    You can replace the screens, yes, but the Touch ID has a high likelihood of no longer working.

    If your concern isnwhethernir not its already been serviced, the information above is solid. I'd also make sideburns in the latest iOS software as the more recent ones were the ones that disabled Touch ID if s third party scanner or phone was detected.
     
  4. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #4
    $30 iPhone 6 huh?
    Good luck with that.
    If it was just a broken screen the seller would fix it himself and sell it for around $400.
    There's a lot more of a catch with that deal probably.
     
  5. hockeyman94 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Location:
    California
    #5
    This is simply wrong. The touch id functionality only stops working if
    1) The Touch ID (homebutton) is replaced with a third part.
    2) The Touch ID flex wire that goes on the metal plate of the LCD is replace with a third party part
    If your Touch ID is currently working then both are original parts and you don't have to worry about loosing Touch ID unless you rip one of these cables (won't happen unless your careless with your repair).

    I bought an iPhone 6 last week for $80 with a shattered screen and sold it for $420 on swappa. iPhone 6 Copy/High Quality screens out of china are about $26 (averaged between a couple of competitors) there are some setbacks to buying the cheaper screen but if thats all you have money wise I would recommend buying the Copy/High Quality screen from either of the suppliers I listed above. If you have more money to spend on a screen I would recommend an OEM screen from either supplier which is A or AA from maya or original for elekworld.
     
  6. lordofthereef macrumors G4

    lordofthereef

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #6
    My understanding is that people had screens replaced and original Touch ID remain intact and we're getting the early brick error (forgot the error name). If that's not the case then multiple people were misrepresenting their situation.
     
  7. hockeyman94 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Location:
    California
    #7
    Your thinking of error 53. This only happens when the Touch ID has been replaced or the flex wire on the metal plate has been replaced. Mutliple people were confused on this issue and how it was caused earlier. Apple also fixed the error so your phone is not bricked now although you will still not be able to get Touch ID back once the Homebutton has been damaged.
     
  8. lordofthereef, Jun 2, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2016

    lordofthereef macrumors G4

    lordofthereef

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #8
    That is what I'm thinking of. And the claims that I read here and elsewhere were otherwise. Either way, if I'm wrong in wrong. I was merely trying to pass on information I had read. I suppose it's possible that the people who had third party screen replacements also had their cables damaged either before or during the swap be it during initial damage/drop or by a careless technician. Unsure there would be a reliable way for the end user to know.
     

Share This Page