iPhone 6(S)(+) Is it time to replace this iPhone? Weird behavior.

now i see it

macrumors 601
Original poster
Jan 2, 2002
So I've been using my trusty iPhone 6 Plus every day for the last three years and it's been rock solid. Still running iOS 9.3.5.

In the last three years it has only re-sprung maybe three times randomly, but other than that, it has been running with zero issues. Everything works perfectly. That's one of the reasons why I haven't updated the OS or bought a new iPhone... This thing has been working perfectly. Never an issue with anything. It's never been dropped.

Today... Something really weird happened out of the blue and it kinda got me thinking... if this iPhone might be on the verge of bricking.

This is what happened:

Was using the iPhone as usual, browsing MR with Safari with the charge cord plugged in (as I've done off & on for three years w no issues). When the battery hit 75%, I pulled the Lightning cord out of the phone and it crashed the phone...and then it re-sprung.

After it restarted automatically, I was greeted with an "Activation Required" screen. Never seen that before.

I had to enter my Apple ID and password to get past that screen (tried turning off the phone again but no luck) and after a few tries, it apparently accepted my login info- then the phone crashed again.

After it rebooted, I tried entering my passcode, and then the home screen appeared briefly, but then it blacked out and said "Activation Required" again.

So I rebooted again.
This time I was greeted with the  logo splash screen as usual, but it hung there. The phone wouldn't boot up. So I turned off the phone again with a hard restart and it started booting up and got to the login screen this time... But it wouldn't accept my passcode. Holy crap!