Is it true? FusionDrive (practically) work with max. 128GB SSD space?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by mbosse, Dec 10, 2015.

  1. mbosse macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2015
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    #1
    Hello,

    I have a question regarding Apple's FusionDrive technology. I set one up in my 5,1 cMP using a 256 GB Apple SSD and a 1 TB hard drive, correctly indicated as a 1.2 TB FD.

    Now I have heard that Apple's FD algorithm supports only the first 128 GB of a SSD for its FD setup, whereas anything above that will be treated like the slow hard drive space (in other words, in my case like a 128 + 1.1 TB setup).

    In essence, if one is using a custom FD constructing it with a SSD above 128 GB is a waste of resources.

    If that true?

    Kind regards,
    Magnus
     
  2. mbosse thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2015
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
  3. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #3
    This is not true.

    You might not see any actual large performance benefit to >128 gigs, but it will make it available for storage at SSD speeds.
     
  4. mbosse thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2015
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    #4
    Thank you, that is what I thought as well. Magnus
     
  5. hwojtek macrumors 6502a

    hwojtek

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    A small rural village in western Poland
    #5
    Could you please share the source of this 128GB "revelation"? I wonder if it essentially says what goMac said, or if there is some fundamental misunderstanding of the technology...
     
  6. mbosse thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2015
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    #6
    I found it on a German Mac forum, claiming as source a Mac developer. That's all I know. Magnus
     

Share This Page