Is it true?!? (that you can use an iPhone on Verizon)

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by MacbookWoo, Dec 6, 2009.

  1. MacbookWoo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Location:
    Tampa, Fl
    #1
    I was told you can now unlock the iphone and use it on Verzion?? Can someone please confirm? I just got into a huge arguement that its not possible. Only with T-Mobile you can unlock the iphone and use it.

    I have never seen anyone using an iphone under Verizon. Can someone please confirm this?

    Thanks, Woo
     
  2. yg17 macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
  3. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
  4. Hmac macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    #6
    Not possible to use with Verizon.

    "Maybe" it will be possible when Verizon goes to 4G, but that implementation isn't likely to be widespread until about 2012.

    QualComm does have a chip that will allow both GSM and CDMA that could be implemented in the iPhone, but Apple has little or no reason to do that unless they anticipate a deal with Verizon after their agreement with ATT expires in mid 2010. And given the sales hype rhetoric with Verizon directly targeting the iPhone, I'm skeptical that there will ever be a Verizon iPhone. Steve Jobs has a long memory and isn't likely too be to keen on Verizon tweaking his nose as it is.
     
  5. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
  6. Warbrain macrumors 603

    Warbrain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #8
    It's amazing that people still think this will work.
     
  7. JD914 macrumors 6502a

    JD914

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Location:
    Dutchess County NY
    #9
    Troll :rolleyes:
     
  8. thegoldenmackid macrumors 604

    thegoldenmackid

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Location:
    dallas, texas
  9. cmaier macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #11
    That one doesn't know the difference between CDMA and UMTS doesn't make one a troll.

    To the OP - T-Mobile is at least possible.
     
  10. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #12
    I've seen trolls, and the OP is not one, at least not yet.
     
  11. aristotle macrumors 68000

    aristotle

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #13
    LOL Don't give noobs any ideas.

    *Edit*
    For any users not familiar with cellular network technology, Sprint and Verizon currently use a technology called CDMA and they are the last two major CDMA only carriers in North America. AT&T and T-Mobile in the US, Fido,Rogers, Telus and Bell (in Canada) all have GSM and/or HSPA network that are compatible with the iPhone in one mode or another. CDMA and GSM/HSPA are not compatible with each other. CDMA is a North American standard with HSPA/GSM is used all over the world.
     

Share This Page