Is it true what they say "You Can Never Have Enough RAM" ?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Anto38x, Aug 13, 2009.

1. Anto38x macrumors member

Anto38x

Hi guys....
    Just wondering of with the near imminent release of Snow Leopard which promises greater RAM usage... would it be wise to get more RAM. I'm a graphic designer currently operating Quark 8 + Creative Suite CS4 + iLife... I currently have a MacPro Dual 3GHz running 10.5.8 with 8GB and I'm contemplating going all the way to 16GB.

Will it make a difference ? and would it be a BIG DIFFERENCE or MINIMAL ?
    Will it be money well spent (as RAM is very cheap at present compared to a new MacPro) ?
    Will Snow Leopard really make a difference ?

Any and all comments most welcome...

Yours sincerely,
    Anthony
    Irish MacUser and MacAddict

2. Chad H macrumors 6502a

Chad H

I believe that saying to be misleading. How much of your RAM are you currently using? Also, you need to look at benchmarks for which memory combo will yield more RAM and greater performance. For isntance, 6GB of RAM in my quad is faster than 8GB.

3. Loa macrumors 65816

Loa

Indeed, for the simple reason that we can finally get more RAM than the system actually needs.

I'd like to have more info and results on that. I did this test on my 2009 2.66 quad using PS4. 8GB is better than 6GB in all the real-world tests I've been able to run, and has the same performance in artificial (not representative of real work) tests. In fact, in PS4, I've never seen 6GB being faster than 8GB.

Using a benchmark to measure raw RAM speed, 6GB *will* be faster than 8GB on the Nehalems, but I'm not seeing the same thing in PS4, at least on my quad.

If you have experienced a faster 6GB in PS4, I'll gladly remove my 4th chip! :)

Loa

4. Chad H macrumors 6502a

Chad H

This was strictly using xBench and using OWC's website as comparison. I will pull it up though. I will tell you I'm probably wrong on this. I'm getting that feeling. :)