Is It worth Installing Leopard?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by monkey86, Aug 18, 2008.

  1. monkey86 macrumors 6502

    monkey86

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #1
    Ive got a 12" PB G4 1.33/1.25/80 and im just about to upgrade the hdd to a WD Scorpio 250gb - is it worth installing leopard or sticking with tiger?

    if there is another thread related to this sorry :)
     
  2. NotFound macrumors 6502a

    NotFound

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    #2
    Yes it is worth it and yes there are tons of threads like this.
     
  3. jtus macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    #3
    I have a friend with a powerbook g4 1.2 with 512 meg of ram and osx 10.5 runns slow on it. I am switching it back to 10.4 today.
     
  4. Firefly2002 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    #4
    In my personal experience, I like Tiger a lot more than leopard.

    And I'd not recommend it on a PowerBook, perhaps especially a 12" PowerBook with a lower-res screen... new features like Spaces wouldn't work well on that.

    Leopard actually slows down PowerPC-based machines; stick with 10.4.11.
     
  5. InLikeALion macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Location:
    Greener places than I used to live
    #5
    My wife's powerbook is a 1.5 with 1.25 of ram and a recently upgraded 160gb hdd. I did a fresh install of Leopard and it works amazingly well. It also seems to have cured its "narcolepsy."

    I highly recommend it.

    @jtus - your friend only has a measly 512mb of ram, that's why Leopard runs so slow. Even if you are determined to go back to Tiger, you should get more ram (it is very cheap). But that would likely solve your performance problems with Leopard.
     
  6. crees! macrumors 68000

    crees!

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Location:
    MD/VA/DC
    #6
    That's because it only has 512 RAM. Up that puppy to 1.5GB RAM and you'll be fine.
     
  7. monkey86 thread starter macrumors 6502

    monkey86

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #7
    cool i think ill try it out and see what its like when the new hdd is in if i dont like it ill just go back to 10.4.11 :)

    i do have a good (ish) processor and ram in here 1.33ghz ppcg4 and 1.25mb ram (max for the 12")
     

Share This Page