Is it worth it to switch?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by vinnie63, Apr 13, 2011.

1. vinnie63 macrumors newbie

This is my first time on this forum. Here's my Mac story. I used to have a 15" macbook pro, 2.53 ghz, 4 gb ram and 300 gig harddrive. I LOVED that machine to bits, though it was well out of my pricerange. It was a gift from my parents as I went away for university. While there, my screen developed a large black bar down the middle, and the screen was defective, and Apple was going to charge me 700 dollars for the part alone, not including shipping, taxes, and labour to replace the screen. I sold the broken machine for parts, and for the 800 dollars I would have spent on a repair, I purchased a Gateway 15.6" 16:9 HD LED Screen, Intel Core i5 430, 8gb RAM and a 640 gb HD.....head and shoulders above my old macbook.

however, I find myself lusting over the new MBPs, and now, even though I can indeed afford it, I have trouble justifying spending 12-16 hundred dollars on a new laptop that, specs wise, is inferior to my current one. User OS experience, trackpad, and battery life is what I miss the most, but is that enough?

note: As a student, I use my laptop extensively, though, aside from the occasional Civilization 5 marathon and movie encoding to play it on my ps3, the most intensive activities for me include listening to music while surfing the internet and typing documents while running a virus scan.

Thanks.

2. AppleScruff1 macrumors G3

AppleScruff1

The current MBP's perform very well and have the latest Intel processors and chipsets. Build quality is night and day compared to Gateway. Check out the 15" MBP.

3. CalBoy macrumors 604

CalBoy

Battery life, size, feel, and OS X are very good reasons for me. I think the quality and experience of the mbp is hands down above what else is out there.