Is it worthwhile to change?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by RMD Photography, Sep 18, 2007.

1. RMD Photography macrumors newbie

RMD Photography

To give a little back info, I am a professional photographer. I deal with images varying in size from 8 megapixes to 50 megapixels. I use Photoshop cs2 currently on a windows laptop with the following specs:
    Pentium 4 CPU 3.20Ghz
    448Mb Ram
    80Gb Hard drive

I have always been told that Macs use thier processing power and ram far more efficiently than a PC. Since my laptop has started acting up I am looking to possibly change over to Mac. Bad thing is I am on a rather tight budget. What kind of specs should I be looking for to meet or exceed the performance(photoshop wise) of my laptop?

Would a quicksilver G4 or a Mini be a big downgrade in performance?

I am truely sorry if this topic has been beat into the ground, please forgive a Mac Newb.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

2. iBookG4user macrumors 604

iBookG4user

You could get a refurbished 1.66GHz intel Mac Mini for $430 when it is available at the refurbished store and that would be about twice as fast as your current computer :)

3. flopticalcube macrumors G4

flopticalcube

Well, I don't know about using CPU or RAM more efficiently. Sometimes I think the reverse is true. A G4 will probably be the same as your PC, maybe a bit slower. An Intel Core Duo or Core 2 Duo mini will spank your PC.

4. MikeTheC Guest

MikeTheC

Gallifrey -- Capitol City, Prydonian Sector
    For actual production work, there is no point at all served in buying older -- especially used -- equipment within the Mac platform any more than the Wintel platform.

It doesn't mean you've got to buy a top-of-the-line Mac Pro (though to be honest some of your higher-end uses might legitimately benefit from having one), but clearly you should be only looking at Intel-based Macs, and quite probably one of the MacBook Pros or one of the iMacs.