Is iTunes for Windows this bad for anyone else?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by JulianL, Oct 20, 2010.

1. JulianL macrumors 65816

I'm pretty new to the Apple world, my first device was my iPad in April and now an iPhone 4 on launch day. I'd read a lot about people not thinking much of iTunes on Windows but I'd never expected it to be this bad! I've been using Microsoft Windows ever since Windows 95 and I now use Windows 7 Professional 64 bit. iTunes is the only app I have run since Windows 2000, i.e. in the last decade, where it fairly regularly locks up my PC so badly that I need to push the hardware reset button in order to recover the system. It just did it to me again a few minutes ago.

Even when it's running normally it seems amazingly slow in some operations, in particular if I go to the applications tab to see my downloaded applications then it shows all the apps but without their icons and at that point iTunes freezes until it has loaded up all the app icons which takes at least 60 seconds.

I've tried uninstalling and reinstalling all Apple components twice now and the lockups still happen.

I am not running an old or slow machine, in fact for normal office stuff like running Firefox or Microsoft Offfice my PC could be described as mind-bendingly fast; striped fast SSD drives for the system disc means that something like Firefox, which used to take about 45 seconds for a cold start on my previous system 2-year old system that had mere 10K Raptors for the C drive, now takes under 3 seconds to launch from cold (admittedly some of that improvement is probably due to "windows rot" on my old system vs a fresh install of Windows on my new system).

Do other people get total PC lockups from iTunes (and this is without the complication of and devices plugged in at the time)? How about the lengthy freeze while application icons load?

- Julian

2. Daveoc64 macrumors 601

That all sounds pretty normal to me!