Is Jailbreaking iPhone really safe?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by PhillinGrubby, Dec 23, 2010.

1. PhillinGrubby macrumors newbie

I have never jailbreaken my iPhone, so I was wondering if it is pretty safe? I have ios 4.2.1 right now and I was thinking about using Redmond pie. Have you guys ever heard of it and what do you guys think?

2. Xian Zhu Xuande macrumors 6502a

Xian Zhu Xuande

Not sure what Redmond Pie is, but jailbreaking is safe as long as you follow some basic precautions. Most important, change your root password afterward. Once done, just be careful what you install—learn about it first. Most people I come across who have a screwed up jailbroken iPhone did it by installing too much poorly-coded system-changing rubbish.

3. MacDawg macrumors P6

MacDawg

As far as I know, there is no jailbreak for 4.2.1 yet, but I am no expert
    So you may have to wait with everyone else

4. QuarterSwede, Dec 23, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2010

QuarterSwede macrumors G3

QuarterSwede

Redmond Pie is a great jailbreaking (among other things) blog. iClarified also has a great guide wizard as well as YouTube. OP, you'll want to use redsn0w to jailbreak.

My advice is to stay far away from Winterboard and any tweak that uses it. It's the number one thing that's caused instability with all of my jailbreaks. Unfortunately that pretty much means no themes. Fortunately for me, I think they're almost all butt ugly anyway. ;)

Redsn0w can jailbreak 4.2.1 on any iDevice. It's currently tethered but it works (OP, that means you have to run redsn0w [the jailbreak] everytime you reboot).

5. Dr McKay macrumors 68040

Dr McKay

When I jail broke my iPhone I installed so much crap on it that it slowly stopped working.

I still miss the "You've got mail!" noise when I got email lol.

6. PhillinGrubby thread starter macrumors newbie