Is Mac Pro, Mid 2010 3.2GHz Quad Core upgradable to 8 cores

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by vladc77, Aug 20, 2014.

  1. vladc77 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    #1
    Hello,

    I am wondering if adding an additional 3.2GHz Quad Core is technically possible without any issues. I'd like to make Mac Pro Mid 2010 made workstation to have 8 cores (2 x 3.2GHz Quad Cores). I want to keep the processor that is already in the workstation and add one more processor. I heard two different opinions on that. One opinion is "Sure, should be fine" where another is "That single processor should be signal. It will not work with another one" I'd like to clarify what would be the correct solution and what my options are for this upgrade.

    Many thanks in advance!
     
  2. AkuskaUK macrumors 6502

    AkuskaUK

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Location:
    Shanklin, Isle Of Wight
    #2
    If your model is a quad-core version (single processor) then you will not be able to add another processor without purchasing a 2010 dual processor board.
     
  3. phairphan macrumors 6502a

    phairphan

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Location:
    Reject Beach
    #3
    You would also need two new CPUs. The CPU in your current single-processor machine cannot be used in conjunction with another CPU -- even if you were to purchase a dual-processor tray.
     
  4. DPUser macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    #4
    Pick up a used W3680 or 90 for $250-$350, drop it in, and enjoy a hexed life.
     
  5. vladc77, Aug 20, 2014
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2014

    vladc77 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    #5
    Thank you for all of your helpful tips. You helped me a lot.

    I also have Mac Pro 3,1 early 2008 model 2.8 Ghz 8 cores. Is that possible to make it more up to date (Powerful). It became a little bit outdated for my application even though I consider it as a good machine. What would be a smart upgrade (no too costly) for this model. Thank you again.
     
  6. rei101 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    #6
    I have that one, I installed 2GB video ram, 64 ram and 8TB raid, 2 PCI cards for USB 3 and some other port. Result.... same speed, no improvement. I could have stayed with the 256 MB of V ram and same thing. The same with the regular ram.

    Basically it is what it is and not will not go faster than that. I have no clue why. I am using is as a server and a hub for storage. I do some final cut pro 7 video editing but no HD.

    Sometimes is better to keep it because the value in the street is not worth it.
     
  7. vladc77 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    #7
    I got it. Thank you for sharing you experience. It seems like I need to look for newer machine but what would be that not sure yet. The decent Mac Pro 6,1 will cost a lot and sort of too expensive for what it is. At least, this is my take on it.
     
  8. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #8
    You need to know where is the bottleneck before you make the upgrade. If CPU is the bottle neck, increase RAM or upgrade to SSD may shows no improvement at all for your operation.

    If you want a quick respond machine, a SSD can help a lot.

    If you want to improve video editing speed, a more powerful GPU may be required.

    If you want better photoshop performance, more RAM and a higher clock speed CPU is what you need.
     
  9. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #9
    There are many threads on this forum written by members who have upgraded a machine like yours. There is still a lot of life left in a 5,1 Single Processor Mac Pro. You seem to have missed Post #4 - You can upgrade your single processor to a 6 core 3.46 GHz with either a W3690 or an X5690 CPU. Unless the applications you use are multi-processor aware, this combo will be quite fast and snappy. A PCIe SATA card with a fast SSD mounted to it is also a great upgrade. You don't mention it, but how much RAM do you have and what GPU is in your machine.

    You machine is still quite capable and is wonderfully expandable and upgradeable.

    Lou
     
  10. vladc77, Aug 20, 2014
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2014

    vladc77 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    #10
    Thank you again. I added SSD and it added a huge boost to the performance. However, I have a need to update graphic card(512 MB only now), add memory ( I have 14GB now), add USB 3.0 support and more. As Rei101 is saying, it will not make a huge difference from his experience. I have a choice to keep adding new components or buy new system. I was offered to buy MacPro 5,1 with 3.2 Ghz quad core and wanted to add another processor. This is how this thread started.

    The newer system can be MacPro 5,1 or 6,1. Is MacPro 6,1 substantial a step up in performance? I thought that 5,1 price to performance ratio is better value. I might be mistaken.
     
  11. Baunkjaer macrumors 6502

    Baunkjaer

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    #11
    That´s exactly what I intend to to with mine, as soon as it arrives.
     
  12. DPUser macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    #12
    With all respect, I must say, even IF your applications are multiprocessor aware, a hex CPU could be snappy enough to make you happy!
     

Share This Page