Is MacBook Pro optimal for me ?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jimmysoy, May 26, 2015.

1. jimmysoy macrumors newbie

I'm a graphic designer and I use Adobe Photoshop, Premier, After Effects, Indesign and Illustrator.

I have a high quality computer and I usually edit my projects on PC.
    But I also want a laptop that is good for editing or presenting my projects whenever I'm not in my home.

So I picked a laptop that can only fit my budget (see pic below)
    Need your thoughts if this will fits my desire laptop.

Thank you :)

Attached Files:

• mc.jpg
      mc.jpg
      File size:
      22.7 KB
      Views:
  2. totten76 macrumors regular

totten76

I know you said this specific laptop is in your budget, but I really think saving up some extra money for the 15" quad core will benefit you. You get the extra real estate and essentially "twice" the power. With quad core and 16GB standard. That's my opinion

3. jimmysoy thread starter macrumors newbie

But that will took me a lot of time to save more money.
    Although I urgently need a laptop right now to work on projects anywhere and to finish it on time.

4. totten76 macrumors regular

totten76

Well if you think you will be fine with the 13" than buy it! Nobody knows your computer needs except you. But don't compromise now and regret it later

5. dmccloud macrumors 6502a

dmccloud

For what you're describing as your needs, having more RAM and the quad-core processor would be very valuable in terms of speed and efficiency. Presentations would run the same regardless of which version you pick up, but the editing and rendering (in After Effects) will get a noticeable boost from the 15" model.

You can also check the Apple website for refurbished 2014 models. Will save some money and still be faster than that base model 13"

6. jimmysoy thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks for the replies :)

I'm not actually looking for a "top-notch" apple laptop.