Is Macbook white good enough for DV editing?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by carl170, May 20, 2009.

1. carl170 macrumors newbie

Hello everyone!

I have ended up with a borrowed macbook white, which I was removing data for my local boat club (2Ghz,512Mb RAM,60Gig Drive) and of course been trying it out, as I have had little experience with Apple stuff. This is the first Macbook I have actually seen in the UK! I have been using it for basic video editing (from a Sony D8 camera using firewire), DVD creation and a little bit of Garageband.

I am totally sold on the ease of use and reliablility with the Mac!. I hated video editing on Windows as it seems such a hasssle making sure latest drivers were compatible, random crashes using Premiere and Cubase etc.

So, I am thinking of buying my own macbook white (the new 2Ghz one wth the 9400 graphics) and upgrading the memory to 4GB of Ram and a bigger hard drive.

Are there likely to be any problems using imove or final cut express? Is there a better alternative - I will be using the firewire with the D8. I looked at a few of the more expensive Macbooks, but they don't all seem to have a firewire port (and the more expensive Mac Air seems to have a lower power processor!)

Also has anyone had any problems with the number of tracks in Garageband?.

Thanks to anyone who can offer any advice. Like most users who have come from windows (15 years use!), I am blown away by the Mac, but finding all the options a bit daunting!

Cheers

Carl

2. arjen92 macrumors 65816

arjen92

First of, you pay for portability with the macbook air. Not power. (that's why it's more expensive, but less power).

My brother has an older white macbook now in the stores. With only 1Gb ram. He has Final Cut Pro 6 running on it. I was able to edit on it just like on my iMac. Only rendering at the end took longer.