Is Mail Dangerous on the iPod touch?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by TheSpaz, Jan 31, 2008.

  1. TheSpaz macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #1
    I ask this because what if my iPod touch gets stolen. Then the person who stole it has access to my email and any personal items I have in notes or other confidential emails that could contain passwords and stuff. I wish there was a way to lock Mail so that when you wanted to view your email you had to type in a password first like in Safari.
     
  2. yetanotherdave macrumors 68000

    yetanotherdave

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Location:
    Bristol, England
    #2
    You can PIN protect your iPod, so that to turn it on/wake it up requires a PIN.
     
  3. TheSpaz thread starter macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #3
    Can't someone easily bypass the pin by plugging it into a computer?
     
  4. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #4
    No, they'd have to restore the iPod to be able to use it if they don't have the code.
     
  5. chall5 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #5

    yeah this is the first thing that struck me, obvious oversight if you ask me. Yes you can PIN protect the whole device but thats inconvenient if you only want Mail protected.

    A simple remember password option would be nice, I wrote to Apple and asked them this.

    I haven't left my Yahoo account on mine, if I need to check my email I will just type in the details as and when
     
  6. gear714 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    #6
    I use the PIN not just to keep thieves out of my email but to make the device itself less attractive to them. It really isn't much of an inconvenience to tap in four numbers.
     
  7. chall5 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    I would think in most situations where an iPod is stolen the thieves wouldn't find out its got a PIN until they have stolen it, I'm thinking mugging here, after all the white headphones are a blatant giveaway about wht mp3 player you have

    Personally, I do find it inconvenient to have to type in the PIN everytime I want to change albums/songs and without a working remote you have to unlock it even to adjust the volume
     
  8. spot1701 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    #8
    To change volume, or play/pause/skip tracks, you don't need to unlock. Just double-tap the home button.
     
  9. TheSpaz thread starter macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #9
    Yup, you can bring up the controls right on the locked screen.
     

Share This Page