is Microsoft Silverlight "bad"?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by isethx, May 19, 2009.

1. isethx macrumors regular

i recently got netflix and it requires Microsoft Silverlight. I've heard a lot of bad things about it interfering with other video watching programs and it being hard to fully remove and etc

is this true, even worth installing?

2. MisterMe macrumors G4

MisterMe

On a site like MacRumors.com, every problem that Mac users have and many that we don't have are reported and discussed til the cows come home. Your post is the first that I have ever heard of Silverlight problem.

I have Silverlight installed on all of my Macs. I have seen no hint of a problem caused by it. I am at a lost how it could conflict with other media content.

3. Blackjack07 macrumors member

Blackjack07

I have been using it for the past 5 months myself. I watch tons of stuff online, because we dont have TV (not cable in each case) so I watch NCIS and some other stuff online :)

Never had issues with other programs I run, and I run a lot of other sound/video programs!

go for it!

4. mathcolo macrumors 6502a

You'll probably soon discover is is a necessary evil.

On a positive note, no problems here :D

5. mikeyredk macrumors 65816

Major League baseball thinks so they switched to flash

6. mathcolo macrumors 6502a

Oh, and since when do we depend on the MLB for good multimedia platform decisions? :D

Honestly, MacRumors users here constantly say Microsoft products are dumb, but they really aren't. I don't mind Silverlight one bit.

7. NeoMayhem macrumors 6502a

Its not that bad. It is a little buggy, but it works a lot better then flash for OS X does.

8. ltldrummerboy macrumors 68000

ltldrummerboy

Silverlight is far less resource-hungry than Flash. I actually prefer it on Mac.